New Zealand name team for World Cup semi

by staff

All Blacks Coach Graham Henry and his Assistant Coaches Steve Hansen and Wayne Smith have today announced the All Blacks team for their Semifinal match of the 2011 Rugby World Cup against Australia at Eden Park, Auckland, on Sunday October 16.

Starting XV:

1. Tony Woodcock (81)

2. Keven Mealamu (90)

3. Owen Franks (29)

4. Samuel Whitelock (23)

5. Brad Thorn (57)

6. Jerome Kaino (46)

7. Richie McCaw – captain (101)

8. Kieran Read (34)

9. Piri Weepu (54)

10. Aaron Cruden (7)

11. Richard Kahui (15)

12. Ma’a Nonu (64)

13. Conrad Smith (53)

14. Cory Jane (29)

15. Israel Dagg (10)


16. Andrew Hore (60)

17. Ben Franks (14)

18. Ali Williams (71)

19. Victor Vito (12)

20. Andy Ellis (24)

21. Stephen Donald (22)

22. Sonny Bill Williams (12)

Number of Test caps in brackets

The All Blacks starting XV, which will again be captained by Richie McCaw, features just three changes to the team that beat Argentina 33-10 in last weekend’s Quarterfinal: Aaron Cruden, who came off the bench last week, is starting at first five-eighth in place of the injured Colin Slade; Israel Dagg comes in for the injured Mils Muliaina at fullback, and Richard Kahui comes onto the left wing, with Sonny Bill Williams moving to the bench. Other changes on the bench see Andy Ellis get the back-up halfback spot, with Stephen Donald the back up 10.

Henry said: “The team was very happy with the way they played in the Quarterfinal win over Argentina. It was a really intense battle and that’s what we needed heading into this weekend’s match. We have been building slowly this week to be ready for Sunday night when we know there will need to be a further lift in intensity and physicality. It’s a Semifinal in the Rugby World Cup and the team is excited by the challenge that lies ahead.”

The All Blacks versus Australia is one of the oldest rugby rivalries in history – the teams have played each other 142 times with 96 wins to the All Blacks, 41 to Australia and five draws. The last Test between the two sides was the final match of this year’s Tri Nations tournament in Brisbane. The teams have met twice at the Rugby World Cup, in the 1991 and 2003 Semifinals. The All Blacks have played Australia 22 times at Eden Park, with New Zealand victorious on 18 occasions, and Australia last winning there in 1986.

All Blacks 2011 Rugby World Cup notes

• The All Blacks have scored 273 points so far in Rugby World Cup 2011, with 38 tries, 25 conversions, 10 penalties and one dropped goal.

• Piri Weepu’s seven penalties against Argentina last week is a record for a single match at Rugby World Cup 2011.

• Israel Dagg is second equal on the 2011 tournament’s try-scoring lists with five tries, one behind France’s Vincent Clerc and England’s Chris Ashton. Sonny Bill Williams, Zac Guildford, Richard Kahui and Jerome Kaino are third equal with four tries. Guildford’s scored all his four tries against Canada, putting him top of the list for tries scored in a single match alongside Fiji’s Verenki Goneva who scored his four tries against Namibia.

• Colin Slade and France’s Morgan Parra hold the records for points scored in a single Test scoring 23 against Japan and Canada respectively. Slade and Australia’s James O’ Connor also hold the record for most successful conversions in a single match with nine against Japan and Russia respectively.