Foru Oceania Sevens injury update

by staff

The Men's and Women's Australian sides playing at the FORU Oceania Sevens this weekend have been forced to make changes with three players ruled out of the tournament.

Lewis Holland will join the Men's squad for the trip to Noosa after Lausii Taliauli failed to recover in time from a minor hamstring injury sustained while training with the UC Vikings last week.

Women's Sevens Head Coach Tim Walsh has had to re-shuffle his pack with IRB Women's Sevens Player of the Year Emilee Cherry withdrawing with a thigh injury. Evania Pelite will also not play on the advice of the team's medical staff.

Sunshine Coast local product Rachel Crothers and Maddi Elliott have been promoted from the Aussie Pearls Development squad to the full national side.

Eighteen-year-old Queensland prospect Ema Masi will join the Aussie Pearls Development team that will play in the Noosa International Sevens tournament.

Revised FORU Oceania Sevens squads

Men’s: Paul Asquith, Harry Bergelin, Allan Fa’alava’au, Alex Gibbon, Lewis Holland, Tom Lucas, Nick Malouf, Sam Myers, Alex Northam, Afa Pakalani, Peter Schuster, Michael Wells

Women’s: Brooke Anderson, Charlotte Caslick, Rachel Crothers, Chloe Dalton, Maddi Elliott, Gemma Etheridge, Ellia Green, Shannon Parry, Alicia Quirk, Saofaiga Saemo, Emma Tonegato, Sharni Williams

Revised Aussie Pearls Women's Development squad:

Katrina Barker, Marioulla Belessis, Dom du Toit, Tallisha Harden, Ema Masi, Tiana Penitani, Georgia Smith, Tanisha Stanton, Phoebe Thomas, Laura Waldie, Brooke Walker