One of QLD's favourite sons inducted into Wallaby Hall of Fame

by staff

Australian Rugby Union today announced former Test captain, Paul McLean MBE, as the third inductee to the Wallaby Hall of Fame for 2011.

A product of the famous McLean family dynasty, Paul joins the First Wallabies captain, Herbert ‘Paddy’ Moran, and one of Australia’s most successful all-time captains, John Eales, as Hall of Fame inclusions this year.

The unveiling of McLean comes two days before his home city of Brisbane hosts the Castrol Edge Tri Nations decider between the Qantas Wallabies and the All Blacks at a sold out Suncorp Stadium.

One of Queensland Rugby's favourite sons, Paul McLean hails from a family that produced seven internationals across three generations.

He was the sixth member of the McLean clan to represent his country.

Bearing Wallaby No. 571, McLean made his debut against the All Blacks at the SCG as a 20-year old in 1974.

He was at flyhalf, outside Wallabies captain and halfback John Hipwell, while Paul’s brother Jeff - who passed away last August at the age of 62 - lined up on the wing.

Over the next eight years, Paul McLean would accumulate 31 Test caps, be widely acknowledged as one of the world's finest goal-kickers, and play a key role in the emergence of Queensland as a powerhouse on the domestic Rugby landscape. He also played in a further 40 non-capped international matches.

McLean ended his career with a perfect winning record as captain. He was in charge for one Test, with the Wallabies downing Fiji 22-9.

Described by Rugby commentators as a natural athlete, and "dextrous of both hand and foot", McLean compiled an impressive 260 points during his Test career - his tally including two tries, 27 conversions, 62 penalty goals and 4 drop goals.

Along with Mark Loane and Tony Shaw, Paul McLean formed what the Queensland Rugby community branded the Holy Trinity and, when he retired in 1982, he did so as Australian Rugby’s highest Test points-scorer.

A leader on and off the field, McLean continued in the game after his playing retirement as a holder of high office at both the Queensland Rugby Union and Australian Rugby Union.

McLean spent two years as first grade coach at Brothers and four years as club president before succeeding his former Queensland and Wallabies coach Bob Templeton as President of the QRU for six years. He also served as ARU President from 2005 to 2009 and spent two years on the iRB.


Paul McLean (Test debut 1974)

John Eales (Test debut 1991)

Herbert “Paddy” Moran (Test debut 1908)

Tom Richards (Test debut 1908)

Tom Lawton (Test debut 1920)

A.C. “Johnnie” Wallace (Test debut 1921)

Dr Alec Ross (Test debut 1925)

Cyril Towers (Test debut 1926)

Sir Edward “Weary” Dunlop (Test debut 1932)

Trevor Allan (Test debut 1946)

Col Windon (Test debut 1946)

Sir Nicholas Shehadie (Test debut 1947)

Tony Miller (Test debut 1952)

John Thornett (Test debut 1955)

Des Connor (Test debut 1958)

Jon White (Test debut 1958)

Ken Catchpole (Test debut 1961)

John Hipwell (Test debut 1968)

Mark Loane (Test debut 1973)

Andrew Slack (debut 1978)

Mark Ella (Test debut 1980)

David Campese (Test debut 1982)

Nick Farr-Jones (Test debut 1984)


Each year three past players – one from the pre-World War II era and two from the post-World War II period – are inducted into the Wallaby Hall of Fame.

Inductees are drawn from any Test teams dating back to the first international side in 1899.

To be eligible for inclusion in the Wallaby Hall of Fame, a player must have:

• Played at least one Test for Australia,

• Been retired from Rugby for at least 10 years,

• Made a major contribution to the game of Rugby,

• Demonstrated outstanding ability, sportsmanship, commitment, character and personal contribution to their team and the game in their era.

While consideration is given to a players’ on-field career, induction is not based on statistical achievement alone.