John Eales medal award nominees revealed

by staff

On Thursday night, the ARU will be hosting its prestigious John Eales Medal awards ceremony in Sydney, an evening which identifies and congratulates the men and women who have shown true capability both on and off the field in Australian Rugby.

The event’s centerpiece, the John Eales Medal, is an annual award given to the recipient who has been considered the most outstanding performing player across the last 12 months within the Qantas Wallabies squad.

Last year, current Wallabies captain Michael Hooper took home the award and could go back-to-back having been revealed as a nominee yet again.

Along with Hooper, Qantas Wallaby team-mates Israel Folau, Stephen Moore, James Slipper and Tevita Kuridrani will also be in the running for Australian Rugby’s biggest individual accolade.

Along with the John Eales Medal, new inductees will be entered into the Wallabies Hall of Fame to immortalise their contribution to Australian Rugby based on their sportsmanship, commitment, character and personal contribution to their team and the game in their era.

Throughout the evening, there will also be a number of other awards presented, dignifying the men and women who make the game possible.

Such awards include the HSBC Volunteer of the Year, The Shawn Mackay Award – Rugby Sevens Player of the Year, the Buildcorp NRC Player of the Series, Super Rugby Try of the Year, Qantas Wallabies Rookie of the Year, as well as many more.

Nominees for the awards to be presented:

HSBC Volunteer of the Year

Jessie Treherne

Bill Coulter

Chris Hicks

Roger Vanderfield Award – Referee of the Year

Steve Walsh

Matt O’Brian

Amy Perrett

Nick Farr-Jones – Spirit of Rugby

Tatafu Polata-Nau

Wayne Ericson

Geoff Larkham

Andrew Purchas

David Brockoff

Pat McCabe

Gary Speckman

Stephen Rowntree

Henry Speight

Dr Bob Wallace

Al Baxter

James Horwill

Matt Hodgson

Warren Robilliard

Wayne Londema

Under 20s Player of the Year

Jim Stewart

Rowen Perry

Sean McMahon

Joe French Award

Geoff Shaw

Ron Graham

Nick Farr-Jones AM

Dick Marks

Buildcorp NRC Player of the Series

Sean McMahon (Melbourne Rising)

Samu Kerevi (Brisbane City)

Tala Grey (NSW Country Eagles)

Jarrad Butler (UC Viking)

Jack Debreczeni (Melbourne Rising)

Super Rugby Rookie of the Year

Adam Coleman (Western Force)

Alofa Alofa (NSW Waratahs)

Samu Kerevi (Queensland Reds)

JP Smith (ACT Brumbies)

Sean McMahon (Melbourne Rebels)

Super Rugby Referee of the Year

Angus Gardner

Rohan Hoffman

Steve Walsh

Super Rugby Try of the Year

Israel Folau (v Western Force)

Bernard Foley (v ACT Brumbies)

Kurtley Beale (v Queensland Reds)

Scott Higginbotham (v Cheetahs)

Ben McCalman (v Queensland Reds)

Super Rugby Player of the Year

Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs)

Matt Toomua (ACT Brumbies)

Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs)

Michael Hooper (NSW Waratahs)

Matt Hodgson (Western Force)

Australia’s Choice – Qantas Wallaby of the Year

Adam Ashley-Cooper

Matt Toomua

Israel Folau

Michael Hooper

James Slipper

Women’s Player of the Year

Emilee Cherry (Sevens)

Charlotte Caslick (Sevens)

Sharni Williams (Wallaroos and Sevens)

Louise Burrows (Wallaroos)

Shannon Parry (Wallaroos and Sevens)

Qantas Men’s Seven’s Player of the Year

Con Foley

Ed Jenkins

Cameron Clark

Greg Jeloudev

Jesse Parahi

Qantas Wallabies Rookie of the Year

Sam Carter

Laurie Weeks

Luke Jones

Will Skelton

Nathan Charles

Jake Schatz

Qantas Wallaby Try of the Year

Michael Hooper (v France in Sydney)

Nick Cummins (v France in Brisbane)

Kurtley Beale (v France in Brisbane)

Rob Horne (v South Africa in Perth)

Michael Hooper (v France in Brisbane)

John Eales Medal

Israel Folau

Michael Hooper

Stephen Moore

Tevita Kuridrani

James Slipper