Cheika heads Aussie Barbarians contingent

by staff

He just returned from the World Cup but Michael Cheika won’t be staying still for long, set to head up an Australian contingent in this month’s Barbarians games.

Cheika will return to England to coach of the Barbarians team, to play Gloucester and Argentina later this month.

The Barbarians have named a 24-man squad, with a possible six of the Wallabies’ World Cup squad in the group, and seven Australians overall.

Three starters from the Wallabies’ World Cup final side - captain Stephen Moore, flanker Scott Fardy and centre Tevita Kuridrani - have been named in the 24-man squad.

Prop Toby Smith, hooker James Hanson and wing Joe Tomane round out the six from the World Cup squad, with Waratahs veteran Stephen Hoiles the final Australian included in the team.

Kuridrani has the chance to play alongside cousin, Fiji’s Nemani Nadolo, who developed a cult following in the World Cup for his powerful displays on the wing.

The Barbarians team has a combined 682 Test Caps and includes players from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Fiji.

This series marks the 125th anniversary of the Barbarians team, with the side playing Gloucester at Kngsholm on Tuesday November 17 and then Argentina at Twickenham four days later.


Ryan Crotty (Crusaders & New Zealand)

Tawera Kerr Barlow (Chiefs & New Zealand)

Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies & Australia)

Pat Lambie (Sharks & South Africa)

Nehe Milner Skudder (Hurricanes & New Zealand)

Nemani Nadolo (Crusaders & Fiji)

Waisake Naholo (Highlanders & New Zealand)

Cobus Reinach (Sharks & South Africa)

Lima Sopoaga (Highlanders & New Zealand)

Joe Tomane (Brumbies & Australia)

Francois Venter (Cheetahs)


Bakkies Botha (South Africa)

Scott Fardy (Brumbies & Australia)

Charlie Faumuina (Blues & New Zealand)

James Hanson (Reds & Australia)

Stephen Hoiles (Waratahs & Australia)

Lood de Jager (Cheetahs & South Africa)

Jamie Mackintosh (Chiefs & New Zealand)

Victor Matfield (Northampton Saints & South Africa)

Stephen Moore (Brumbies & Australia)

Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks & South Africa)

Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)

Toby Smith (Melbourne Rebels & Australia)

Warren Whitely (Lions & South Africa)