Pools for Glasgow Sevens announced

by RUGBY.com.au staff

The Qantas Australian Men's Sevens side has been drawn alongside England, France and Russia for the Glasgow Sevens next month (9-10 May) as the team seeks to get its season back on track.

Australia's indifferent tournament in Tokyo last weekend, coupled with England's Cup Final win at the Prince Chichibu Stadium in Tokyo, saw the men in white overtake the green and gold in the race for a top four spot in the 2014/15 HSBC Sevens World Series.

However, Geraint John's side have a 100% record so far this season against its Pool A opponents. Australia has played England on three occasions, securing wins in Dubai (12-5), Las Vegas (21-14) and Hong Kong (12-7). Ironically, England's last World Series win over the Aussies was a 21-7 success in Glasgow in 2014.

Australia has played France once in the 2014/15 HSBC Sevens World Series - in Las Vegas - emerging 31-14 winners, with Cameron Clark (2), Pama Fou (2) and skipper Ed Jenkins among the try scorers. Australia has won 30 of the 38 World Series meetings to date.

Russia, meanwhile, were promoted to the list of core teams for the 2015/16 Sevens World Series after winning the qualification tournament in Hong Kong last month. This will be their first tournament of the year.

Australia currently sit in fifth position in the Sevens World Series, nine points behind fourth placed England with two rounds to play. France are tenth in the series standings and do have the scalp of series leaders South Africa to their name, having memorably beaten the Blitzbokke in Wellington in February.

Current series leaders South Africa face third-ranked New Zealand, Samoa and Kenya in Pool B. Fiji, four points behind the Blitzboks in the standings with two rounds remaining, will face hosts Scotland, Wales and Portugal in Pool C, while Canada await Japan, USA and Argentina in Pool D.

Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens fixtures for Glasgow, Scotland on 9-10 May:

Australia v England, Pool A, TBC, 9/10 May

Australia v France, Pool A, TBC, 9/10 May

Australia v Russia, Pool A, TBC, 9/10 May