Pools for Women's Sevens in Brazil revealed

by RUGBY.com.au staff

The Qantas Australian Women's Sevens side have been handed a daunting pool for the Sao Paulo leg of the 2015-16 HSBC Women's Sevens World Series.

Despite being top seeds for the tournament, Tim Walsh's charges have been drawn alongside last year's World Series runners-up Canada, fast-improving Fiji and Ireland.

Australia currently leads the fledgling table after winning the opening leg of the season in Dubai last weekend.

Sao Paulo has been a happy-hunting ground for the green and gold in the past two years, winning the inaugural Brazil Sevens in February 2014 and then finishing runners-up 12 months later.

The last time Australia met Canada was in a see-saw Cup Final at the Amsterdam Sevens in May, with the Maple Leafs clinching the title through Ghislaine Landry in the final minute.

Fiji, under the tutelage of Chris Cracknell, qualified for the Rio 2016 Olympics last month though have historically found it tough against the Australians, having lost all six games to them in the World Series.

Australia and Ireland will have the opportunity to get a close look at one another before the World Series tournament when they take on each other in a three-match exhibition series at the Sydney 7s (weekend of 6-7 February).

The Aussies will be without Chloe Dalton (arm) for the trip to South America, while skipper Sharni Williams (knee) is a doubt.

Qantas Australian Women's Sevens fixtures in Sao Paulo, Brazil, 21-22 February

Australia v Fiji, Pool A, 12.44am AEDT (21 February)

Australia v Ireland, Pool A, 3.28am AEDT (21 February)

Australia v Canada, Pool A, 6.12am AEDT (21 February)