Log in

Wallabies announce 38-man squad for France

Sun, 13/06/2021, 3:32 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Chiefs dominated the Waratahs at Brookvale Oval

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has announced a 38-man squad for the upcoming series against France.

Michael Hooper will once again captain the side after making his return from Japan.

Get your tickets now for the Wallabies three-Test series with France!

Lock Matt Philip also makes his return to the set-up after finishing his stint with French club Pau.

The squad contains 11 uncapped players with a further 14 players having played less than 10 Tests.

The debutants include Brumbies duo Len Ikitau and Lachlan Lonergan along with Force hooker Feleti Kaitu'u and Rebels back-rower Rob Leota.

It also marks a return for Sitaleki Timani, with the Western Force veteran last played for Australia 2760 days ago on the 2013 Spring Tour against Scotland.

Lachie Swinton has been sent off

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said in a statement: “We’ve picked this squad on form and on potential, and I know the whole group really excited to get stuck in and push their case for a Wallaby jersey against France.

“Obviously the squad is a bit bigger than what we would normally have but we had to consider how we will handle the rigours of the Series against France.

“We’ll get together on Tuesday and then start our preparations in earnest for what promises to be a really exciting Series against a side that’s at the top of its game."

Waratahs pair Jake Gordon (knee) and Izaia Perese (shoulder) have been named in the squad and will be racing the clock ahead of the first Test starting on July 7 at the SCG.

The action will then head to Melbourne on July 13 before travelling up to Suncorp Stadium on July 17.

Wallabies squad for 2021 eToro France Series (Test caps, Harvey Norman Super Rugby side and age)

*Uncapped players Allan Alaalatoa (43, Brumbies, 27) Tom Banks (11, Brumbies, 26) Angus Bell (3, NSW Waratahs, 20) Filipo Daugunu (5, Queensland Reds, 26) Pone Fa’amausili* (uncapped, Melbourne Rebels, 24) Lalakai Foketi* (uncapped, NSW Waratahs, 26) Jake Gordon (5, NSW Waratahs, 27) Reece Hodge (45, Melbourne Rebels, 26) Michael Hooper (c) (105, Verblitz/NSW Waratahs, 29) Len Ikitau* (uncapped, Brumbies, 22) Feleti Kaitu’u* (uncapped, Western Force, 26) Andrew Kellaway* (uncapped, Melbourne Rebels, 25) Marika Koroibete (34, Melbourne Rebels, 28) Rob Leota* (uncapped, Melbourne Rebels, 24) Noah Lolesio (2, Brumbies, 21) Lachlan Lonergan* (uncapped, Brumbies, 21) Tate McDermott (2, Queensland Reds, 22) Fraser McReight (1, Queensland Reds, 22) Andy Muirhead* (uncapped, Brumbies, 28) Isi Naisarani (8, Melbourne Rebels, 26) James O’Connor (55, Queensland Reds, 30) Brandon Paenga-Amosa (9, Queensland Reds, 25) Hunter Paisami (6, Queensland Reds, 23) Izaia Perese* (uncapped, NSW Waratahs, 24) Matt Philip (9 Tests, Pau/Melbourne Rebels, 27) Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (25, Queensland Reds, 24) Scott Sio (68, Brumbies, 29) James Slipper (100, Brumbies, 32) Darcy Swain* (uncapped, Brumbies, 23) Lachie Swinton (1, NSW Waratahs, 24) Sitaleki Timani (18, Western Force, 34) Matt To’omua (54, Melbourne Rebels, 31) Taniela Tupou (25, Queensland Reds, 25) Rob Valetini (4 Tests, Brumbies, 22) Michael Wells* (uncapped, Melbourne Rebels, 28) Nic White (37, Brumbies, 31) Harry Wilson (6, Queensland Reds, 21) Tom Wright (3, Brumbies, 23)

Australia A will make its return as part of the Pacific Nations Cup. Photo: Getty Images
Australia A to return as part of Pacific Nations Cup
White eager to re-sign as he issues cautionary tale to younger Wallabies
Choose your top eight: Looking at the finals make-up for Super Rugby Pacific
The Oceania Under 20 Championship has been confirmed for the Sunshine Coast. Photo: Getty Images
Oceania U20 Championship confirmed for Sunshine Coast
Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.