Super Rugby AU: All the team news for Round Nine

Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 7:00 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Queensland Reds hosted the Brumbies in Round Eight of Harvey Norman Super Rugby AU at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane

The Western Force will kick off Round Nine as they host the Waratahs on Saturday, with both teams looking to keep their finals hopes alive.

Meanwhile, the Brumbies will travel to Melbourne to face the Rebels as Sunday Rugby returns to Super Rugby.

Watch every minute of Super Rugby AU on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

All the team news here from 5pm AEST.

Saturday 17 April 7:45pm AEST – Western Force v NSW Waratahs at HBF Park, ad-free, live and on demand on Stan Sport and simulcast on 9Gem

Want to get to the game? Make sure you’ve got your tickets beforehand!

The Force has welcomed Tim Anstee and Brynard Stander back to the starting line-up as they push for third spot in the finals.

Stander replaces Tomas Lezana, who drops out of the side, whilst Anstee swaps with Fergus Lee-Warner.

Byron Ralston has been omitted, replaced by Richard Kahui, allowing speedster Jake Strachan to come onto the bench.

Meanwhile, the Waratahs have named Ben Donaldson to start in place of the injured Will Harrison, with Donaldson making his return via the Shute Shield last week.

Along with this, Lachie Swinton returns from a foot injury whilst Sam Caird has been cleared of a concussion.

FORCE (1-15): Tom Robertson, Feleti Kaitu'u, Santiago Medrano, Jeremy Thrush, Sitaleki Timani, Tim Anstee, Kane Koteka, Brynard Stander, Tomas Cubelli, Domingo Miotti, Jordan Olowofela, Kyle Godwin (c), Tevita Kuridrani, Richard Kahui, Jack McGregor

Reserves: Andrew Ready, Angus Wagner, Greg Holmes, Ryan McCauley, Fergus Lee-Warner, Ian Prior, Grason Makara, Jake Strachan

INs: Greg Holmes, Jake Strachan, Grason Makara

OUTs: Byron Ralston, Tomas Lezana, Kieran Longbottom

WARATAHS (1-15): Angus Bell, Dave Porecki, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Hugh Sinclair, Max Douglas, Lachlan Swinton, Carlo Tizzano, Will Harris, Jake Gordon (c), Ben Donaldson, James Ramm, Lalakai Foketi, Izaia Perese, Alex Newsome, Jack Maddocks

Reserves: Tom Horton, Te Tera Faulkner, Darcy Breen, Sam Caird, Jeremy Williams, Charlie Gamble, Jack Grant, Tane Edmed

INs: Lachlan Swinton, Ben Donaldson, Sam Caird

OUTs: Michael Wood, Will Harrison, Mark Nawaqanitawase

The Western Force have broken a six year drought, defeating the Rebels at AAMI Park

Sunday 18 April 2:00 pm AEST – Melbourne Rebels v Brumbies at AAMI Park, ad-free, live and on demand on Stan Sport.

Want to get to the game? Make sure you’ve got your tickets beforehand!

The big news for the Rebels is the impending return of Isi Naisarani, who has been named on an extended bench.

He is joined by Cameron Orr and Ross Haylett-Petty as Dave Wessels mixes up his forward pack.

Along with Naisarani, Campbell Magnay will make his return, named at centre, with Lewis Holland going back to the reserves.

Tom Pincus has been selected at fullback in place of the injured Reece Hodge, with Dane Haylett-Petty still a week away.

As for the Brumbies, Dan McKellar has opted to freshen up his squad, most notably resting Irae Simone and Pete Samu.

James Tucker and Rory Scott join Rob Valetini in a new-look back-row whilst Bayley Kuenzle starts at inside centre.

Nic White swaps places with Ryan Lonergan as Will Miller makes his official return on the bench.

REBELS (1-15): Matt Gibbon, James Hanson, Pone Faamausili, Rob Leota, Trevor Hosea, Josh Kemeny, Richard Hardwick, Michael Wells, Joe Powell, Matt To'omua (c), Marika Koroibete, Campbell Magnay, Stacey Ili, Frank Lomani, Tom Pincus

Reserves: Jordan Uelese, Cabous Eloff, Cameron Orr, Lucio Sordoni, Ross Haylett-Petty, Isi Naisarani, Brad Wilkin, James Tuttle, Lewis Holland, Glen Vaihu (two to omit)

INs: Isi Naisarani, Glen Vaihu, Campbell Magnay, Ross Haylett-Petty, Cameron Orr

OUTs: Jeral Skelton, Reece Hodge, Steve Cummins

BRUMBIES (1-15): Scott Sio, Folau Fainga'a, Allan Alaalatoa, Darcy Swain, Cadeyrn Neville, James Tucker, Rory Scott, Rob Valetini, Ryan Lonergan, Noah Lolesio, Tom Wright, Bayley Kuenzle, Len Ikitau, Andy Muirhead, Tom Banks

Reserves: Lachlan Lonergan, James Slipper, Tom Ross, Nick Frost, Will Miller, Nic White, Reesjan Pasitoa, Mack Hansen

INs: Tom Ross, Rory Scott, Reesjan Pasitoa, Will Miller

OUTs: Sefo Kautai, Pete Samu, Irae Simone, Tom Cusack


HISTORIC MOVE: Fiji, Samoa set to Super inclusion

STEPPING UP: Waratahs back playmakers in Harrison's absence

UP FOR GRABS: Positions wide open in Wallabies set-up

LIVE: Moana Pasifika draw first blood against Reds in Whangarei
LIVE from 7:35 pm: Waratahs prepare for Crusaders rematch
Harry Hoopert at Force training
Western Force mid-season Super Rugby injury update
Western Force sign former Wallabies hooker Brandon Paenga-Amosa