Nominees confirmed for John Eales Medal, Wallaroos & Sevens POTY ahead of RA Awards

Mon, Feb 5, 2024, 6:27 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Rugby Australia has confirmed the nominees for the major award winners ahead of Wednesday's RA Awards.
Rugby Australia has confirmed the nominees for the major award winners ahead of Wednesday's RA Awards.

Rugby Australia has confirmed the nominees for the major award winners ahead of Wednesday's RA Awards in Sydney.

The awards celebrate the past 12 months of Rugby in Australia, returning to an awards night after previously being held online.

Don't miss Super Round 2024 in Melbourne from March 1-3. Get your tickets now! 

Wallabies Angus Bell, Marika Koroibete, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Will Skelton and Rob Valetini are the nominees for the John Eales Medal.

Bell is looking to become the first prop to win the award after a dominant World Cup campaign as Koroibete attempts to go back-to-back for his third Medal.

Nawaqanitawase continued his brilliant international season in 2023 with four tries as Skelton's impressive form was recognised with captaincy for the World Cup.

Valetini rounds out the list, having finished second in 2022 behind Koroibete, emerging as a dominant and reliable figure in the back row.

Emily Chancellor, Georgina Friedrichs, Eva Karpani, Ash Marsters and Maya Stewart are the five nominated for the Wallaroos Player of the Year.

The Wallaroos excelled in 2023, headlined by a maiden win over France along with victories over Wales, Fijiana and the USA.

Friedrichs is the defending winner from 2022, whilst Karpani was electric across WXV and took out Player of the Match in their upset win over the French.

Marsters was awarded the RUPA Medal of Excellence in 2023 after her brilliant campaign, with Chancellor and Stewart consistently dominating their opposition across the Pac Four and WXV campaigns.

Charlotte Caslick, Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea and Maddison Levi are the women's nominees for the Shaun McKay Medal.

Levi was nominated for World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year, having broken the record for most tries in a World Series, with Caslick and Lefau-Fakaosilea equally as influential in their title wins in Dubai and Cape Town.

Nathan Lawson, Henry Paterson and Dietrich Roache have been nominated for the Men's Shaun McKay Award.

Paterson was named in the 2022-23 World Series Dream Team, with Lawson and Roache amongst the top try scoresr and point scorers for the Australians across the past 12 months.

John Eales Medal

Angus Bell

Marika Koroibete

Mark Nawaqanitawase

Will Skelton

Rob Valetini

Wallaroos Player of the Year

Emily Chancellor

Georgina Friedrichs

Eva Karpani

Ash Marsters

Maya Stewart

Shaun McKay Medals
Men's Player of the Year

Nathan Lawson

Henry Paterson

Dietrich Roache

Women's Player of the Year

Charlotte Caslick

Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea

Maddison Levi

Rodda's Force comeback on ice after training mishap
Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea will miss Vancouver and LA with a shoulder injury. Photo: Getty Images
Aussie Sevens announce debutant after Lefau-Fakaosilea, Dennis injuries
The Australia U20s squad has been confirmed for the first training camp. Photo: Getty Images
First Australia U20s squad announced for 2024
Benchmark Brumbies to lead Aussie Super Rugby assault Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2024 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.