Marika Koroibete named 2022 John Eales Medalist

Sun, Apr 23, 2023, 11:58 PM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Marika Koroibete's 50th cap presentation at Marvel Stadium.

Wallabies winger Marika Koroibete has been named the 2022 John Eales Medalist.

It is the second time Koroibete has won the award voted on by the players, initially winning the award in 2019.

Catch every game of Super Rugby Pacific LIVE on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

Koroibete edged out Rob Valetini (170 votes) and Allan Alaalatoa (168 votes) despite the 30-year-old missing the Spring Tour.

The winger was named as part of World Rugby's Men's 15s Dream Team of the Year at the end of 2022 after an electric start to the International season.

He took out the John Cadbury Plate for Player of the Series during Australia's 2-1 series defeat to England in July.

This was followed by an electric performance against the Springboks in Adelaide, producing one of the all-time try-saving tackles on Makazole Mapimpi.

He joins George Smith, Nathan Sharpe, Michael Hooper, Israel Folau and David Pocock as players who have won the award on multiple occasions.

"It's an honour to be awarded the 2022 John Eales Medal, especially in a season where so many players played well in the Wallabies jersey," Koroibete said in a statement.

"Rugby is a team sport first and foremost, so I'd like to thank my teammates and to know they were the ones who voted for me to win this award means a lot.

"It's been a dream come true to represent the Wallabies and I hope I can continue to contribute to the team in what's a massive year ahead."

“Marika’s consistency in attack and defence has become a feature of the Wallabies since his debut," John Eales added.

"He combines passion and skill in the perfect measure."


2022: Marika Koroibete

2021: Michael Hooper

2020: Michael Hooper

2019: Marika Koroibete

2018: David Pocock

2017: Israel Folau

2016: Michael Hooper

2015: Israel Folau

2014: Israel Folau

2013: Michael Hooper

2012: Nathan Sharpe

2011: Kurtley Beale

2010: David Pocock

2009: Matt Giteau

2008: George Smith

2007: Nathan Sharpe

2006: Chris Latham

2005: Jeremy Paul

2004: David Lyons

2003: Phil Waugh

2002: George Smith