Izaia Perese wins Matt Burke Cup after breakout Waratahs season

Sun, 10/10/2021, 09:28 pm
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Wallabies win 4 in a row in 2021 as they down the Pumas at CBUS stadium

Waratahs centre Izaia Perese has been rewarded for his breakout season, winning the Matt Burke Cup as the side’s best player in 2021 at the club's awards night.

Perese had a nightmare debut, sent off in the opening game of Super Rugby AU against his old side Reds.

Watch every minute of Wallabies v Japan on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

However, he would emphatically make up for it on his return, producing an incredible run of form that saw him lead the side in tackle busts despite playing in just nine of 13 games.

The 24-year-old was named in the Wallabies side to travel on the Spring Tour after a dislocated shoulder forced him to withdraw from the France series.

Fellow Wallaby squad member Lachie Swinton was named Best Forward whilst Waratahs skipper Jake Gordon was named Best Back after his strong finish to the Trans-Tasman season saw him named starting scrumhalf for the Wallabies in the opening Test of 2021.

Lock Max Douglas was awarded the Chris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah Medal after stepping up on debut in a pack decimated by injury as Easts standout Teddy Wilson won the Dave Dennis Elite Youth Development Player of the Year.


SQUAD: Wallabies name Spring Tour squad

RETURN: Rennie excited about overseas trio

PATIENCE: Wallabies keep eye to the future

Meanwhile, flyhalf Arabella McKenzie has taken out the Super W Player of the Year award.

McKenzie was the leading point scorer in the competition with 39 points, 15 of which came in the final as the Waratahs won their fourth straight title.

Margot Vella was named Rookie of the Year after scoring three tries in three matches in her debut season, including two in the final.

Along with this, Maya Stewart took out Super W’s Best Back after a blistering season on the wing with a comp-high seven tries whilst the ever-reliable Emily Chancellor was named Best Forward.

2021 NSW Waratahs Awards:

Super W Rookie of the Year – Margot Vella

Super W Best Back – Maya Stewart

Super W Best Forward – Emily Chancellor

Super W Player of the Year – Arabella McKenzie

Dave Dennis Youth Player of the Year – Teddy Wilson

Chris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah Medal – Max Douglas

Super Rugby Best Back – Jake Gordon

Super Rugby Best Forward – Lachlan Swinton

Matt Burke Cup – Izaia Perese

Porecki's pride for growing Waratahs' side as Coleman builds on foundations past and present
Brumbies welcome Lolesio back as they reap benefits of pre-season tweak
Bayley Kuenzle and the Western Force are out to make a statement against the Kiwi sides. Photo: Western Force
'We want to be a side to be reckoned with': Kuenzle, Force eager to shine against Kiwi sides
Thomas not content with ‘riding the wave’ as he pushes for starting spot
Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.