Australian-based duo Lomani, Tela to combine in new-look Fiji side against Barbarians

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

New Melbourne Rebel Frank Lomani will captain a young Fijian side against the Barbarians in London this weekend.

Lomani will start at halfback for the Flying Fijians and lead the side, which includes 11 uncapped players in the 23.

The Rebels' new nine will team up with fellow Australian-based player Teti Tela in the halves.

Fiji's lineup is dominated by Fijian Drua players, including fullback Enele Malele.

Fiji coach John McKee said the clash would be a chance to give the next generation of Fiji players a taste of international rugby.

“This game gives us great opportunity to expose some younger Fijian players, who can play for Fiji towards RWC 2023, to the big game atmosphere playing the Barbarians.” he said.

“It’s a great opportunity for the players to express themselves and make their mark for Fiji on the world stage.”

The Barbarians named their team earlier this week, with a host of Lomani's future Super Rugby teammates facing off in the globally-sourced side.

Fiji take on the Barbarians at Twickenham on Saturday November 16, kicking off at 2:30pm local, Sunday 1:30am AEDT.


Fiji to play the Barbarians

1. Eroni Mawi (Fijian Drua – 12 caps)

2. Ratu Veremalua Vugakoto (Fijian Drua – 9 caps)

3. Samuela Tawake (Manuwatu – Debut)

4. Temo Mayanavanua (Northland – debut)

5. Sikeli Nabou (Counties Manukau – 6 caps)

6. Mosese Voka (Fijian Drua – 9 caps)

7. John Dyer (Fijian Drua – 1 cap)

8. Eremasi Radrodro (Fijian Drua – 4 caps)

9. Frank Lomani (Melbourne Rebels – 14 caps)

10. Teti Tela (Queensland Reds – debut)

11. Patrick Osborne (Canterbury – 9 caps)

12. Serupepeli Vularika (Fijian Drua – 10 caps)

13. Asaeli Tikoirotuma (North Harbour – 23 caps)

14. Jiuta Wainiqolo (Fijian Drua – debut)

15. Enele Malele (Fijian Drua – debut)


16. Tevita Ikanivere (Fijian Drua – debut)

17. Joeli Veitayaki (Fijian Drua – 6 caps)

18. Mosese Ducivaki (Fijian Drua – 3 caps)

19. Tevita Naqali (Fijian Drua – debut)

20. Mesulame Kunavula (Edinburgh – debut)

21. Peni Matawalu (Fijian Drua – debut)

22. Caleb Muntz (Fijian Drua – debut)

23. Cyril Reece (Fijian Drua – debut)