Four teams unbeaten after opening day of Aon Uni 7s at UQ

Uni 7s
by staff

The University of Sydney and the University of Queensland have emerged as major contenders in round one of the 2019 Aon Uni 7s series after leading their pool through the opening day of competition at St Lucia.

Both teams, as well as defending Aon champions Griffith University and the University of Technology, Sydney, finished unbeaten after three matches on the opening day.

The University of Sydney has started day one undefeated with convincing wins over the University of Adelaide, University of Melbourne and Bond University.


Hosts  the University of Queensland have also won all three of their day one matches, defeating UNE, the University of Canberra and competition debutants the University of Western Australia. 

A clearer picture will emerge after Sunday morning's final pool games when Griffith take on Sydney Uni and UQ face UTS ahead of the finals.

Day two of the 2019 Aon University Sevens will be broadcast LIVE on with Bond University scheduled to take on the University of Melbourne at 9.00am.

The opening round of finals will start from 11am, with the grand final scheduled for 2.40pm.



For live results and scorers, click here.


Round 1

Griffith 22 d Bond 5

University of Adelaide 28 d University of Melbourne 5

University of Queensland 24 d UNE 7

University of Canberra  12 def by UWA 17 

Round 2

Griffith 24 d University of Melbourne 5

University of Sydney 29 d University of Adelaide 0 

University of Queensland  28 d UWA 7

UTS  22 d University of Canberra 10 

Round 3

University of Sydney 43 d University of Melbourne 5

Bond 14 def by University of Adelaide 31 

UTS 24 d UWA 5 

UNE 7 def by University of Canberra 19 

Round 4

University of Sydney 21 d  Bond 12

Griffith 24 d University of Adelaide 19

UTS 31 d UNE 14  

University of Queensland 36 d University of Canberra 0 


Round 5

Bond v University of Melbourne, 9:00am

Griffith v University of Sydney, 9:20am

UNE v UWA, 9:40am

University of Queensland v University of Canberra, 10:00am 


3rd Pool A v 4th Pool B, 11.00am 

3rd Pool B v 4th Pool A, 11.20am

1st Pool A v 2nd Pool B, 11.40am

1st Pool B v 1st Pool A, 12.00am 


9th/10th Playoff, 1.00pm

7th/8th Playoff, 1.25pm

5th/6th Playoff, 1.50pm

Bronze Medal Match, 2.15pm

Gold Medal Match, 2.40pm