Unicorns go back-to-back in Dewar Shield

Super Rugby
by RUGBY.com.au staff

Melbourne have taken out the 2019 Dewar Shield for the second year in a row with a 37-15 win over Box Hill.

In a four tries to two outing, the Unicorns proved to be the better side on the day, backing up their minor premiership regular season finish.

Maciu Nabolakasi had the first try of the day, putting Melbourne on top, and they never looked back from there.

Taimo Matau, Samuel Vaevae and William Lewesi all added to the Unicorns scoresheet in their dominant performance.

James Sooialo's lethal boot delivered an extra 17 points for Melbourne as well, converting each try and adding three penalties as well.

Box Hill fought hard all day, with Leone Cama and Onesema Hafoka scoring tries and Michael Moloney slotting five points off the tee.

Melbourne and fierce rivals Harlequin have had a stranglehold on the trophy for the better part of the last decade but Box Hill were a surprise contender in 2019.

The Unicorns' win gave them the first back-to-back titles in the Dewar Shield since 2015 when the 'Quins completed a hat-trick of titles.


Melbourne 37

Tries: Nabolaski, Matau, Vaevae, Lewesi

Cons: Sooialo 4

Pens: Sooialo 3

Box Hill

Tries: Cama, Hafoka

Cons: Moloney

Pens: Moloney