Aon Uni 7s trimmed to four rounds in 2019, UWA and UTS added

Uni 7s
by staff

The 2019 Aon Uni 7s series has been condensed to four rounds in 2019, kicking off in September.

Last year the series expanded to a five-leg schedule but the 10-team competition will a shorter season was opted for this season. 

Tasmania is the leg that drops off with tournaments in Brisbane, Adelaide, Canberra and on the Gold Coast.

The Uni 7s is in its third series, with new teams UWA and UTS joining the competition this year in place of Macquarie and UTas.

Brisbane will be the host of the first tournament this season, on September 14 and 15 before a Bond Uni leg a fortnight later, with the Adelaide and Canberra competitions in October.

Rugby Australia's Sevens high performance manager Scott Bowen said he expected a host of nationally contracted players to feature in the competition this season.

“We’re looking forward to this season being the best yet for the Aon University Sevens Series," he said.

“With the adjustment of the global season means that the Aussie 7s players will play again in rounds across the Series and we know that this will only serve to lift the already high standard of the competition.

“Game time will be crucial in a massive year for Rugby Sevens and I know that there will be players keen to put their hands up to potentially earn selection in the Aussie 7s National fold.

“For players from other sports that have thought about Rugby Sevens, this is the time to put your hand up to play in Aon University Sevens Series in what is going to be an exciting 12 months for the game.”

Aussie Sevens coach John Manenti said the competition was proving to be a strong pathway for the national outfit, producing a handful of debutants since its inception.

“I was very impressed with the Aon University Sevens Series over the last two seasons and it was clear that there was no love lost on the field between Universities," he said.

“For a program to be successful we need competition for contracts, places and spots at the national level and this year’s series presents four rounds of opportunity for players and teams.

“We have seen across the world how successful University sport is and the Aon University Sevens Series is adding an Australian chapter to that book.” 

The Aon Uni 7s kicks off on September 14 at UQ.


2019 Aon University Sevens Series

Round 1 - September 14-15, University of Queensland

Round 2 - September 28-29, Bond University

Round 3 - October 12-13, University of Adelaide

Round 4 - October 26-27, University of Canberra