Super W: Rebels name new-look squad

Super W
by staff

The Rebels have unveiled a new-look Super W squad for 2019 as they look to take another step forward in the competition.

Melbourne went winless through the inaugural competition but showed plenty of grit and unearthed two Wallaroos squad members in Alice Tonumaivao and Georgia Cormick. 

That pair are among the players returning to the side in 2019 as the competition nears.

Swiss international Camille Chamodon is a new face in the squad along with Tasmania's Wynonah Conway.

Coach Alana Thomas said there was a positive vibe around the team ahead of the second iteration.


“It is really exciting, the players and staff have really worked hard over the past couple of months,” she said.

“The players have made the coaches have some really good discussions around the selection table.”

“Last year was tough, but a great learning opportunity for everyone involved,” she said.

“We learnt a lot of lessons from 2018 which made us change the setup of our program and training session plan to really target the areas that let us down.”

“I have said from day one that 2019 is about depth and closing the gap which translates to our playing group depth, our skills, our fitness and our knowledge.”

“Right from before Christmas I have been quietly confident with how we are tracking, and I believe this group is already showing signs that the performances in 2019 will be better.”

The full fixture for the 2019 Super W competition is yet to be announced but the tournament will kick off next month.


IN: Georgia Bradbery, Yvonne Callaghan, Utumalefata To'omalatai Atonio Eli, Carmen Landkauf, Faith Masina, Tiarah Minns, Brooke Moselen, May Saaga, Tuputausi Sae, Titilia Yabaki, Tyra Boysen, Camille Chamodon, Wynonyah Conway, Courtney Frankl, Belle Hunt, Georgia Page, Liana Pritchard-Matamua

OUT: Tessa Brown, Jocelyn Davis, Samantha Homewood, Paula Ioane, Rebekah Jones, Jayne Kareroa, Anna Knight, Loanna Lelei, Elle McIntosh, Anna Milne, Rachael Pike, Tulia Pula, Melenaite Sofele, Jacqueline Teo, Maria Va'auli, Rebecca Walker


Georgia Bradbery

Yvonne Callaghan

Utumalefata To'omalatai Atonio Eli

Sharlene Fagalilo

Casey Homewood

Janita Kareta

Carmen Landkauf

Ashley Marsters

Faith Masina

Alice Masters

Tiarah Minns

Brooke Moselen

May Sa’aga

Tuputausi Sae

Merenesa Tapuai

Alice Tonumaivao

Titilia Yabaki


Jasmine Bennedick

Tyra Boysen

Camille Chamodon

Wynonah Conway

Georgia Cormick

Courtney Frankl

Belle Hunt

Tauala Hunt

Georgia Page

Liana Pritchard-Matamua

Meretiana Robinson

Tangata Tupou

Mikaela Welti