Horne to join Aussie Sevens in Dubai; Mighty Moz returns

by Sam Phillips

A push to have Classic Wallabies heavily involved with the Australian Men's Sevens squad will see Rob Horne join coach Tim Walsh's side in Dubai for the opening leg of the 2018/19 World Series.

The news came as Walsh named a full-strength squad for the season kick-off, with Maurice Longbottom joining the team after missing the Oceania Sevens with injury.

Horne, who was forced to retire after detaching nerves from his spinal cord while playing for Northampton in the UK, will serve as the team's manager in Dubai.

The 34 Test back is eager to reintroduce himself into the Australian rugby scene and Walsh couldn't be happier, with other Classic Wallabies set to join the team on tour in the near future.

"Rob is just looking forward to getting back involved in Australian rugby and he has a lot to offer the team and the program," Walsh said.

"We want to have more engagement with former Aussie Sevens players and Classic Wallabies with this squad and with what we have done already the players have really responded strongly."

Michael Wells will make his earn his first Aussie Sevens cap since 2014. Photo: Getty ImagesOn a team front Walsh has also handed Waratahs back rower Michael Wells his first World Series cap since 2014.

Wells joined the Australian Sevens squad at the start of preseason and will be an integral part of the team before the Waratahs' Super Rugby campaign kicks into top gear.

"The team has worked hard throughout pre-season and we have been looking forward to the World Series kicking off and getting our campaign underway.

"Michael (Wells) is really excited about his returning cap for Australia.

"He played well at the Oceania Sevens Championship and is always looking to improve himself in Sevens."

Lewi Holland will captain the side, with Jesse Parahi and Nick Malouf serving as his deputies.


Australian Men's Sevens team for the Dubai 7s

1. Lewis Holland (c), Queanbeyan, 38 caps

2. Jesse Parahi (vc), Norths (Sydney), 40 caps 

3. Nick Malouf (vc), 22 caps 

4. Ben O’Donnell, Randwick, 9 caps 

5. John Porch, Norths (Sydney), 17 caps 

6. Michael Wells, Norths (Sydney), 2 caps 

7. Liam McNamara, Sunnybank, 8 caps 

8. Tim Anstee, Eastwood, 19 caps

9. Boyd Killingworth, Warringah, 18 caps 

10. Maurice Longbottom, Lloyd McDermott Rugby Development Team, 7 caps 

11. Henry Hutchison, Randwick, 16 caps 

12. Lachie Anderson, Eastwood, 16 caps 

13. Brandon Quinn, Gordon, 8 caps