Barrett in line for third World XVs Player of the Year gong

by AAP

New Zealand's Beauden Barrett and Rieko Ioane have been named on the five-man shortlist for World Rugby Player of the Year award, while France dominated the nominations for the women's award.

Barrett could become the first player to win the award three years in a row after another stellar season in the All Blacks number 10 jersey, scoring seven tries in his eight tests this year.

Ioane, the youngest of the nominees at only 21, has found himself on the shortlist for the second year in a row, having also been named the Breakthrough Player of the Year in 2017.

South African pair Faf de Klerk and Malcolm Marx and Irish flyhalf Johnny Sexton were also nominated for the award.

The oldest men's nominee at 33, Sexton has played a key role in Ireland's climb to the second in the world rankings on the back of a Six Nations Grand Slam and first series win in Australia for 39 years.

France captain Gaelle Hermet was joined by teammates Pauline Bourdon, Safi N'Diaye and Jessy Tremouliere on the women's shortlist after their Grand Slam triumph this year.

They were joined by Kiwi skipper Fiao'o Faamausili, the oldest of the nominees at 38.

The awards will be presented in Monte Carlo on November 25.


World Rugby Men's XVs Player of the Year

Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)

Faf De Klerk (South Africa)

Rieko Ioane (New Zealand)

Malcolm Marx (South Africa)

Johnny Sexton (Ireland)

World Rugby Women's XVs Player of the Year

Pauline Bourdon (France)

Fiao’o Faamausili (New Zealand)

Gaëlle Hermet (France)

Safi N’diaye (France)

Jessy Trémoulière (France)


Previous World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year Award winners

2017 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)

2016 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)

2015 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)

2014 – Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)

2013 – Kieran Read (New Zealand)

2012 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)

2011 – Thierry Dusautoir (France)

2010 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

2009 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)

2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)

2006 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

2005 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)

2004 – Schalk Burger (South Africa)

2003 – Jonny Wilkinson (England)

2002 – Fabien Galthié (France)

2001 – Keith Wood (Ireland)

Previous World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year Award winners

2017 – Portia Woodman (New Zealand)

2016 – Sarah Hunter (England)

2015 – Kendra Cocksedge (New Zealand)

2014 – Magali Harvey (Canada)

2012 – Michaela Staniford (England)

2011 – Ruth Mitchell

2010 – Carla Hohepa (New Zealand)

2009 – Debby Hodgkinson (Australia)

2008 – Carol Isherwood (England)

2007 – Sarah Corrigan (Australia)

2006 – Maggie Alphonsi (England)

2005 – Farah Palmer (New Zealand)

2004 – Donna Kennedy (Scotland)

2003 – Kathy Flores (USA)

2002 – Monique Hirovanaa (New Zealand)

2001 – Shelley Rae (England)