Springboks reshuffle side to face Wallabies

The Rugby Championship
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Springboks have made five changes to their 23 to face the Wallabies in Port Elizabeth.

Injuries have forced the hosts into a host of changes, with captain Warren Whiteley and centres Damien de Allende all ruled out earlier this week.

Coach Rassie Erasmus has made some tweaks to the pack with Tendai Mtawarira starting ahead of Steven Kitshoff in an otherwise unchanged tight five.

Sikhumbuzo Notshe replaces Whiteley at no. 8 in his first Test start.

Former Sevens star Cheslin Kolbe has also earned his first start after impressive performances off the bench in recent weeks.

"Cheslin has been very impressive since he joined the squad a few weeks ago and now he gets a deserved opportunity to start in a big Test,” Erasmus said.

“The same applies for Notshe, who did very well in the role of impact player during the English series. He has kept on working hard and he deserves his opportunity in the starting team.

“The inclusion of ‘Beast’ in the front row is a straight swap for Steven and Jesse returns to outside centre, a position where he has played most of his Test rugby, next to André, who started in four Tests already this year.”

The Springboks finished well against the All Blacks in a shock win in Wellington and Erasmus said he wanted to see impact from his bench again.

“The players that we sent on took their chances and that’s what we want from this group," he said.

We are trying to build experience in the squad that we can take to the Rugby World Cup."

The Wallabies take on the Springboks in Port Elizabeth on Saturday September 29, Sunday September 30 1:05am AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS and via Channel Ten.


IN: Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Andre Esterhuizen, Marco Van Staden ,Embrose Papier, Damien Willemse

OUT: Warren Whiteley, Damien de Allende, Lukhanyo Am, Ross Cronje, Francois Louw

South Africa to face the Wallabies

1. Tendai Mtawarira

2. Malcolm Marx

3. Frans Malherbe

4. Eben Etzebeth

5. Franco Mostert

6. Siya Kolisi

7. Pieter-Steph Du Toit

8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

9. Faf de Klerk

10. Handre Pollard

11. Aphiwe Dyantyi

12. Andre Esterhuizen

13. Jesse Kriel

14. Cheslin Kolbe

15. Willie le Roux


16. Bongi Mbonambi

17. Steven Kitshoff

18. Wilco Louw

19. RG Snyman

20. Marco van Staden

21. Embrose Papier

22. Elton Jantjies

23. Damian Willemse