Boks spring changes for Brisbane Test

The Rugby Championship
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Springboks will roll out a new-look side in Brisbane in a must-win clash with the Wallabies.

South Africa coach Rassie Erasmus had said he would resist wholesale changes after a loss to the Pumas a fortnight ago but he has certainly shaken things up.

Elton Jantjies takes the reins at flyhalf for the first time in the 2018 Rugby Championship as one of four changes to the overall 23.

Jantjies will link up with an entirely different centre combination too as Damien de Allende and Jesse Kriel replace Andre Esterhuizen and Lukhanyo Am.

Super Rugby stars Tendai Mtawarira and Malcolm Marx will come off the bench in Brisbane, replaced by Steven Kitshoff and Bongi Mbonambi in the run-on team.

Erasmus said Saturday's Test would be a contest between two desperate sides and whoever could respond the best after recent losses would finish on top.

"We are looking for a good response on Saturday against the Wallabies and I am sure that this side will be up to the task,” he said.

“Australia, playing at home, will no doubt be highly motivated to bounce back, so we have to be ready for a huge contest.

“We have worked hard to rectify our errors of last week and we know the set piece and breakdown battles are going to especially be important.

"The Wallabies are known for their abilities at the breakdown and we will have to be accurate and disciplined."

The Wallabies take on the Springboks on Saturday September 8, kicking off at 8pm AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS, Channel Ten and RADIO. Buy tickets here.


IN: Elton Jantjies, Damian de Allende, Jesse Kriel, Cheslin Kolbe

OUT: Andre Esterhuizen, Lukhanyo Am, Damien Willemse, Lionel Mapoes

South Africa to take on the Wallabies 

1. Steven Kitshoff

2. Bongi Mbonambi

3. Frans Malherbe

4. Eben Etzebeth

5. Franco Mostert

6. Siya Kolisi

7. Pieter-Steph Du Toit

8. Warren Whiteley

9. Faf de Klerk

10. Elton Jantjies

11. Aphiwe Dyantyi

12. Damian de Allende

13. Jesse Kriel

14. Makazole Mapimpi

15. Willie Le Roux


16. Malcolm Marx

17. Tendai Mtawarira

18. Wilco Louw

19. RG Snyman

20. Francois Louw

21. Embrose Papier

22. Handré Pollard

23. Cheslin Kolbe