Haylett-Petty aligns with Force for NRC

by RUGBY.com.au staff

Wallabies back Dane Haylett-Petty has aligned with the Western Force for the 2018 NRC season.

The Force is replacing the Perth Spirit as WA's NRC team and Haylett-Petty was among a 39-man squad named on Monday morning.

The 29-year-old moved to the Rebels this season in Super Rugby after the Force was axed from the competition but has been vocal about wanting to maintain support for the WA pathway.

Haylett-Petty was one of a host of Force players that switched to the Melbourne franchise but is the only one in that group named in the Force's squad for the NRC.

The Force took a win over Panasonic. Photo: Getty ImagesWith the NRC and Wallabies matches generally overlapping it is unlikely Haylett-Petty is unlikely to don the Force jersey again but his alignment is an interesting symbolic move.

The decision means he will likely spend his time between Wallabies Test weeks in Perth and will be closer to many of his family and friends.

He wouldn't be the only player splitting his time between cities - teammate Will Genia is based in Brisbane during Wallabies season after playing for the Rebels in Super Rugby.

"I am really excited for the opportunity to play back in Perth in front of friends and family,” Haylett-Petty said.

“Watching on from Melbourne, they’re doing great things growing the game and creating a pathway from community rugby through to professional level.

“I’m looking forward to getting back when I’m not involved with the Wallabies. It gives me a chance to stay involved with rugby in WA and give back in whatever capacity I can.”

The 22-Test Wallaby will be joined by a host of the Force's World Series Rugby players, including former All Black Jeremy Thrush.

The Force opens its NRC campaign against Brisbane City on Sunday September 2, kicking off at 3pm AEST, 1pm AWST.


2018 Western Force NRC squad

AJ Alatimu

Marcel Brache

Masivesi Dakuwaqa

Rod Davies

Andrew Deegan

Tevin Ferris

Issak Fines

Josh Furno

Benjamin Grant

Peter Grant

Dane Haylett-Petty

Jack Hardy

Chris Heiberg

Rodney Iona

Feleti Kaituu

Maalonga Konelio

Brad Lacey

Fergus Lee-Warner

Harrison Lloyd

Kieran Longbottom

Jack McGregor

Cameron Orr

Harrison Orr

George Pisi

Leon Power

Ian Prior

Harry Scoble

Tom Sheminant

Brynard Stander

Henry Stowers

Sheldon Tarawa

Henry Taefu

Heath Tessmann

Jeremy Thrush

Carlo Tizzano

Elliot Tuner

Clay Uyen

Lachlan Valentine

Markus Vanzati