Vikings and Unicorns claim club crowns

Super Rugby
by staff

Grand finals were run and won today in Canberra and Melbourne.

Here is a wrap of how they turned out.


The Tuggeranong Vikings have secured their seventh John I Dent Cup in ten years after a dominant 29-19 win over Royals at Viking Park.

The Vikings turned in a strong first half and led 22-3 at the break, with man-of-the-match Noah Lelesio leading the side well and halves partner Ryan Lonergan also influential.

When winger Andrew Robinson collected his second try with a long-range effort in the 60th minute, the Vikings pushed out to a commanding 29-3 lead and looked home and hosed.

The Royals fought back and with tries to Luke Kimber and Lausii Taliauli saw them claw back to win 12. But it was too little, too late and the Vikings secured another premiership title under new coach Nick Scrivener.


Vikings 29

Tries: Robinson 2, Gersekowski, Henry, Lonergan

Cons: Lonergan 2 

Royals 17

Tries: Kimber, Taliauli 

Cons: Rolando 2

Pens: Rolando


The Melbourne Unicorns have capped a memorable day for the club by claiming the Dewar Shield 22-16 over a strong Harlequins outfit.

The club had already secured premierships in second grade, third grade and colts.


Melbourne Unicorns 22

Harlequins 16