Larkham inducted into World Rugby hall of fame

by staff

Wallabies legend Stephen Larkham has added another decoration to his career more than a decade after his Test retirement with inclusion in the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

World Rugby announced five new inductees on Friday, with Larkham the 17th Australian to be included in the illustrious list.

The flyhalf was joined by Ronan O'Gara, France's Pierre Villepreux, Kiwi Bryan Williams and Welsh woman Liza Burgess as the latest crop of inductees.

Larkham retired from international rugby in 2007, after 102 Wallabies Tests and three World Cup appearances.

The 44-year-old has gone on to find coaching success, first with the Brumbies and then stepping into an attack role at the Wallabies.

Widely regarded as Australia's most creative flyhalf ever, Larkham is now charged with helping shape Australia's playmakers.

Rugby Australia CEO Raelene Castle passed on her congratulations to Larkham.

"On behalf of the Australian Rugby community I would like to extend our congratulations to Stephen on this fantastic achievement," she said.

“Stephen was already established as one of the modern-day greats of our game and his influence in Australian Rugby continues as he coaches and mentors the current Qantas Wallabies squad as an assistant coach.

“His playing legacy is one of creative brilliance, and an unwavering pride in the gold Wallabies jersey.

“Stephen is passionate about developing the next generation of Wallaby playmakers and for him to be recognised globally for his contributions is an achievement every Rugby fan can celebrate.”

World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont paid tribute to all five inductees on Friday.

“Each have left their mark on the sport and through their achievements and character, inspired millions to play and support rugby worldwide, and we look forward to honouring them in the coming weeks," he said.

Larkham's long-time teammate and Hall of Fame chairman John Eales said the group had all had major influences on rugby.

“It is an honour to recognise the contribution of our newest inductees who, over different eras, have inspired generations of rugby players and supporters," he said.

"Through their induction, they represent the many thousands of men and women who have made our game great.”

Australian Hall of Fame inductees

Danny Carroll (2016)

Tim Horan (2015)

Tom Richards (2015)

Michael Lynagh (2014)

David Campese (2013)

John Thornett (2013)

George Gregan (2013)

Mark Ella (2013)

Ken Catchpole (2013)

Tom Lawton (2013)

Bob Dwyer (2011) - coach

Roger Vanderfield (2011) – referee

Sir Nicholas Shehadie (2011)

Nick Farr-Jones (2011)

Rod Macqueen (2011) – coach

John Eales (2007)