Miller at seven, Foley to captain Waratahs

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Will Miller has stepped into Michael Hooper’s seven jersey for the Waratahs’ pivotal clash with the Rebels this weekend.

Miller has been playing in a dual openside structure with Hooper for much of the season, despite wearing the six jersey, but Gibson said he was keen to have a crack at his preferred spot this weekend.

“I think he's been itching for a chance to get in in the seven jersey,” he said.

“We've been playing two smaller loose forwards all year and it's a chance for him to see what he can do.”

Bernard Foley will replace Michael Hooper as captain, with Rob Simmons stepping into the vice-captaincy.

Israel Folau has been named in the starting team, pending the outcome of a judiciary hearing on Wednesday afternoon, with Bryce Hegarty to start and Irae Simone to come into the 23 should Folau be rubbed out.

“Obviously with Michael Hooper being out for a period of time, it's good to have him back, certainly bolstering the backrow,” he said.

“Obviously with Michael out, we're pleased to announce that Bernard Foley will take over that captaincy.

“We really see that as an opportunity for him to grow into a leadership role and step up.”

Gibson said Nick Phipps’ club captaincy suspension was being reviewed, with the halfback stood down in April after urinating on a bar at his bucks’ party.

“Nick's still obviously serving his probationary period and we're about to review exactly, has he served enough time,” he said.

“I think he still has a role to play in terms of his leadership on and off the field.

“It was undetermined (the probationary period), we didn't put a time limit on it and obviously what's happened with Hoops, it's probably a good time to revisit that.”

The Waratahs take on the Rebels on Friday night at AAMI Park, kicking off at 7:45pm AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS and via RADIO. Buy tickets here.


IN: Ned Hanigan

OUT: Michael Hooper

Waratahs to face the Rebels

1. Tom Robertson (40)

2. Damien Fitzpatrick (44)

3. Sekope Kepu (120)

4. Jed Holloway (36)

5. Rob Simmons (Vice-captain, 11)

6. Ned Hanigan (25)

7. Will Miller (12)

8. Michael Wells (28)

9. Nick Phipps (69)

10. Bernard Foley (Captain, 100)

11. Taqele Naiyaravoro (45)

12. Kurtley Beale (123)

13. Curtis Rona (13)

14. Cam Clark (19)

15. Israel Folau (85)


1. Tolu Latu (48)

2. Harry Johnson-Holmes (13)

3. Paddy Ryan (101)

4. Tom Staniforth (13)

5. Brad Wilkin (2)

6. Jake Gordon (24)

7. Bryce Hegarty (26)

8. Alex Newsome (8)