English to captain Rebels in Perth

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Rebels have named a strong outfit to head to Perth to take on the Force in World Series Rugby on Saturday night.

Centre Tom English will captain the side that features six former Force players and a host of regular Rebels.

Nathan Charles will have his first start since returning to Melbourne from Bath, while Tom Moloney, Pone Faamausilii, Harrison Goddard, Tayler Adams, Henry Hutchison and Kiti Ratu are also have their first run-on opportunities of the season.

Lock Geoff Parling will share the coaching duties with Dave Wessels for the clash, which will also be a return to Perth for the latter, who coached the Force last season.

Jack Debreczeni will play at fullback, in his first game in three weeks, while Adams has first crack at 10, after auditions off the bench in Super Rugby, behind Reece Hodge.

Club stars have been drafted in to round out the bench, with Sydney Uni duo Nick Champion de Crespigny and Rohan O'Reagan, Randwick's Jack Johnson, and Souths' Matt Gibbon all included in the 24-man team.

The Rebels will travel to Perth on Thursday, ahead of the clash, that Wessles has not been shy about talking up.

"We are really looking forward to a special night," he said.

“I know many of the players and I are excited about returning to Perth to play in front of family and against many old friends.

“We’ll certainly be trying to do our part to put on an exciting game. It promises to be a night to remember.’

The Rebels take on the Force in Perth on Saturday June 9, kicking off at 8pm local, 10pm AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS and via 7TWO in Perth.


Rebels to face the Force

1. Tom Moloney

2. Nathan Charles

3. Pone Fa’amausili

4. Sam Jeffries

5. Matt Philip

6. Ross Haylett–Petty

7. Richard Hardwick

8. Angus Cottrell

9. Harrison Goddard

10. Tayler Adams

11. Henry Hutchinson

12. Billy Meakes

13. Tom English (capt.)

14. Kiti Ratu

15. Jack Debreczeni


16. Matt Gibbons

17. Andrew Tuala

18. Jermaine Ainsley

19. Nick Champion de Crespigny

20. Rohan O’Reagan

21. Jack Johnson

22. Michael Ruru

23. Hunter Paisami

24. Jack McGregor