Force unveil 2018 squad, fixtures

by Sam Phillips

The Force have unveiled their squad for 2018, with the headline act the return to rugby for 72 Test Springbok Jaque Fourie.

Fourie, who featured as a regular part of the Springboks setup from 2003 to 2013, will come out of retirement to feature for the Force in Andrew Forrest's new Indo-Pacific Championship.

While Fourie is the headline act, Force fans will be pleased to see 11 familiar names returning for a stint with the club.Fourie has plied his trade in Japan after retiring from Test rugby. Photo: Getty Images"The squad has an important spread of youth and experience and we are delighted that the players have committed to the club," new Force coach Tim Sampson said.

"The players have joined from many different clubs throughout Australia and internationally, so it is fantastic that we have players like Ian Prior, Peter Grant and Marcel Brache and others who have been with the Western Force previously."

Additionally, Rio Olympic gold medallist Masivesi Dakuwaqa joins the squad, having turned his attention to rugby league after claiming gold in Fiji's triumphant Sevens campaign.Rod Davies will return to Australia to feature for the Force. Photo: Getty ImagesFormer Red Rod Davies also makes his return to Australia, named in the squad.

The club has also unveiled a list of fixtures they will play against Super Rugby clubs and national XVs, kicking off on May 4 with a clash against Fiji at nib Stadium.

The Rebels and Crusaders will also travel to Perth to take on the Force in the June Test window.

The Force will then replace the Spirit in the NRC, before the full scale "World Series Rugby", as Forrest has coined it, will kick into gear in 2019.


Western Force squad for 2018

Aj Alatimu

Chris Alcock

Marcel Brache

Masivesi Dakuwaqa

Rod Davies

Andrew Deegan

Tevin Ferris

Jaque Fourie

Josh Furno

Peter Grant

Chris Heiberg

Rodney Iona

Feleti Kaitu’u

Brad Lacey

Kieran Longbottom

Ryan Louwrens

Cameron Orr

Harrison Orr

Leon Power

Ian Prior

Harry Scoble

Tom Sheminant

Brynard Stander

Elliot Turner

Clay Uyen

Fergus Lee Warner


Force fixtures for 2018

May 4 vs Fiji

May 13 vs Tonga

June 9 vs Rebels

June 22 vs Crusaders

July 13 vs Samoa

August 10 vs Hong Kong

August 17 vs TBC