It's Miller time as Tahs go for two on-ballers for Sharks

Super Rugby
by Sam Phillips

The Waratahs have all the tools to deploy their own version of 'Pooper', with Will Miller named on the bench for their clash with the Sharks.

Miller comes on to the bench to fill the hole left by Jed Holloway, who shifts into the starting XV as part of a rejigged forward pack.

Holloway will start at No. 8, with Michael Wells shifting to blindside flanker and Ned Hanigan packing down at lock in place of the injured Rob Simmons.

The rest of the starting XV remains stable, with the other significant change coming in the inclusion of uncapped prop Kalivati Tawake ahead of Shambeckler Vui.

Talking to reporters from Durban on Thursday, Gibson said the inclusion of Miller would give a mobile Waratahs pack the flexibility to play two fetchers.

"It gives us the chance to play two genuine on ballers," Gibson said.

"Hopefully with big, strong tackle contests, we'll be able to do some damage on the ball.

"Will's well suited to that, he played well through our trials and now we've had the opportunity to place him on the bench.

"It'll be a good introduction for him."


Waratahs team to face the Sharks

1. Tom Robertson (28)

2. Damien Fitzpatrick (32)

3. Paddy Ryan (92)

4. Ned Hanigan (16)

5. Tom Staniforth (1)

6. Michael Wells (16)

7. Michael Hooper (81, captain)

8. Jed Holloway (24)

9. Jake Gordon (13)

10. Bernard Foley (88, vice-captain)

11. Curtis Rona (1)

12. Kurtley Beale (111)

13. Lalakai Foketi (1)

14. Andrew Kellaway (21)

15. Israel Folau (76)


16. Hugh Roach (31)

17. Harry Johnson-Holmes (1)

18. Kalivati Tawake (*)

19. Nick Palmer (1)

20. Will Miller (*)

21. Mitch Short (*)

22. Bryce Hegarty (14)

23. Alex Newsome (1)