Rebels name Super W squad

Super W
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Melbourne Rebels have named their inaugural Super W squad, with the competition to kick off next month.

Melbourne held trials for mor than 50 women to narrow down the numbers for their final squad, playing trials against the Brumbies women in recent weeks as well.

Jayne Kareroa will captain the side, an appointment announced earlier this month along with that of Rebels men's captain Adam Coleman.

2014 Wallaroos World Cup player and 2017 Victorian player of the year Ashley Masters is also in the squad, which will go into the competition as underdgos.

Coach Alana Thomas said she expected Super W to be a strong advertisement for women's rugby, which tends towards ball-in-hand styles of play.

"There’s going to be a lot of people watching women’s rugby that are going to be intrigued and appreciate the skills,” Thomas said.

“It’s not like the men, our players don’t have the same tactical kicking strength so they play more running rugby.

“It’s a lot more entertaining brand of rugby to watch.”


Melbourne Rebels Super W squad

Jasmine Bennedick

Tessa Brown

Georgia Cormick

Jocelyn Davis

Sharlene Fagalilo

Casey Homewood

Samantha Homewood

Tauala Hunt

Paula Ioane

Rebekah Jones

Jayne Kareroa (Captain)

Janita Kareta

Anna Knight

Loanna Lelei

Phoebe Linder-Patton

Alice Masters

Ashley Masters

Elle McIntosh

Anna Milne

Rachael Pike

Tulia Pula

Meretiana Robinson

Melenaite Sofele

Merenesa Tapuai

Jacqueline Te'o

Alice Tonumaivao

Tangata Tupou

Maria Va'auli

Rebecca Walker

Mikaela Welti