No need for mind games: Jones

by AAP

Eddie Jones insists England do not need mind games to motivate them for their Calcutta Cup clash with Scotland.

Jones has adopted a tactful approach to the Six Nations showdown in Edinburgh by refusing to engage in the phoney war that has seen the vast majority of the shots fired from north of the border.

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has accused England of repeatedly being offside in defence while second row great Doddie Weir views the champions' dismissal of Murrayfield as "arrogance".

New Zealand-born prop Simon Bergan added to the hostilities by declaring that in advance of his move to Edinburgh in 2014, "I sort of knew that everyone hates England".

Jones, however, has refused to engage a fortnight after ruthlessly placing the temperament and conduct of Wales duo Rhys Patchell and Alun Wyn Jones under the spotlight.

"They have brought out every strategy you can think of," Jones told Sky Sports. "I'm sure there's an ex-Scottish player ready to come out today and say something about how they hate us, they want to rub our nose in something, we don't respect them.

"It's designed to get them up for the game. We're up for the game, regardless of what's said. We always chat to the referee, but it won't be about that (defending from an offside position), it'll be about aspects of what he wants from the game, because we want to play the game legally."

Jones has made just one change to the team that dispatched Wales 12-6 at Twickenham with Nathan Hughes replacing shoulder injury-victim Sam Simmonds at No.8.

The former Wallabies mentor dispelled any concern over Owen Farrell's fitness after the playmaker played only a limited role in training since the win against Wales by declaring "he's full of beans".

England takes on Scotland at Murrayfield on Saturday February 23, 4:45pm local, Sunday 3:45am AEDT. 


England to face Scotland

1. Mako Vunipola

2. Dylan Hartley

3. Dan Cole

4. Joe Launchbury

5. Maro Itoje

6. Courtney Lawes

7. Chris Robshaw

8. Nathan Huges

9. Danny Care

10. George Ford

11. Jonny May

12. Owen Farrell

13. Jonathan Joseph

14. Anthony Watson

15. Mike Brown


16. Jamie George

17. Joe Marler

18. Harry Williams

19. George Kruis

20. Sam Underhill

21. Richard Wigglesworth

22. Ben Te'o

23. Jack Nowell