Chiefs name All Blacks for Sunshine Coast trial

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Chiefs have named a host of All Blacks in their team to play the Brumbies on Wednesday night.

Damian McKenzie, Nepo Laulala, Brodie Retallick, Sam Cane and Anton Lienert-Brown are among those to feature in their trial team, in their first outings of 2018.

McKenzie will be at flyhalf, after the departure of Aaron Cruden, continuing his rise as a reliable utility.

Former Waratahs prop Angus Ta'avao will come off the bench for the Waikato side.

Their announcement comes after the Brumbies named a full-strength side for the Sunshine Coast trial, with Christian Lealiifano to captain the side.

The Chiefs take on the Brumbies at Sunshine Coast Stadium at 7pm local, 8pm AEDT. Stream at


Chiefs to play the Brumbies

1. Atunaisa Moli

2. Liam Polwart

3. Nepo Laulala

4. Brodie Retallick

5. Dominic Bird

6. Mitchell Brown

7. Sam Cane (cc)

8. Taleni Seu

9. Brad Weber

10. Damian McKenzie

11. Solomon Alaimalo

12. Alex Nankivell

13. Anton Lienert-Brown

14. Tim Nanai-Williams

15. Shaun Stevenson


Kane Hames

Samisoni Taukei'aho

Angus Taavao

Aidan Ross

Michael Allardice

Lachlan Boshier

Liam Messam

Mitchell Karpik

Luke Jacobson

Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi

Marty McKenzie

Tiaan Falcon

Johnny Fa'auli

Charlie Ngatai