Wallaroos aplenty for NSW

Super W
by Sam Phillips

NSW have named a star studded squad jam packed with Wallaroos for their first tilt at the inaugural Super W competition.

Wallaroos stars Ashleigh Hewson, Grace Hamilton, Emily Robinson, Chloe Leaupepe and Alexandra Sulusi will be a five pronged attack for NSW, who will go into the competition as hot favourites.

Sydney has claimed five straight national titles and it's that string of success which has coach Rob Baumann excited about the season ahead.

"It’s a fantastic initiative and one of the advantages that rugby union has over all other codes is that it has an established pathway," Baumann said.
Grace Hamilton will be integral to the NSW title run. Photo: RUGBY.com.au/Stuart Walmsley"This really is the icing on a cake that has undertaken a lot of work to get to where it is today in the inordinate growth and success of women’s rugby in the last few years.

"It’s been capped off by a fully-fledged Super W competition and we are 100% supportive of the growth of the women’s game in Australia.

"We’ve got a really good blend of experienced players and youth and I’m pretty excited for what lies ahead."


NSW squad for Super W

Katrina Barker

Iliseva Batibasaga

Nat Crow

Laura Devereux

Josephine Falesita

Aaliyah Fasavalu-Fa'amausili

Melissa Fatu

Alafou Fatu

Grace Hamilton

Ashleigh Hewson

Evelyn Horomia

Fi Jones

Ariana Kaiwai

Atasi Lafai

Sarah Laman

Kirrily Laws

Chloe Leaupepe

Natalie Maclarn

Crystal Maguire

Cobie-Jane Morgan

Pareake O’Brien

Shanice Parker

Emily Robinson

Tamsin Sheppard

Talaopatina Sio

Ana-Lise Sio

Alexandra Sulusi

Nancy Vaiaku

Inge Visser

Mardi Watts