Ledesma names first Jaguares squad

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Mario Ledesma has unveiled his first squad as Jaguares coach, with the Argentinians set for South Africa.

Ledesma, who took over the top job ahead of the 2018 season, named a 29-man squad for a preseason trial against the Bulls and their opening Super Rugby clashes against the Stormers and Lions.

The former Wallabies scrum coach has named rookie propr Javier Diaz in the team, replacing Santiago Garcia Botta.

Flanker Pablo Matera will skipper the side, with Joaquin Tuculet and Tomas Lezana the vice-captains.

Ledesma said his first round of selections was the most difficult.

The Jaguares also unveiled their 2018 jerseys overnight. Photo: Facebook.Jaguares“Always, the first list is very difficult. It's a complicated moment to have to leave players out ,” he said.

“Everyone who goes to South Africa can play. The inclusion of Javier Díaz is because Santiago (García Botta) can not do it. For the next lists they will be taken into consideration and other factors will be taken into account.

Ledesma said he was pleased with the progress the team had made in the preseason.

"It's a group that came with a lot of desire to work, with enthusiasm and joy,” he said.

“It is an easy group to live with, easy to train. We can all look each other in the eyes, be authentic and I am very happy to be with this group of people.”

The Jaguares fly to South Africa later on Wednesday, Australian time.

The Jaguares open their Super Rugby campaign against the Stormers on February 17, 3:05pm local, Sunday 12:05am AEDT. 


Jaguares for South Africa trip 

Matias Alemanno

Felipe Arregui

Gonzala Bertranou

Emiliano Boffelli

Sebastian Cancelliere

Agustin Creevy

Bautista Delguy

Javier Diaz

Joaquin Dian Bonilla

Bautista Ezcurra

Santiago Gonzales Iglesia

 Juan Martin Hernandez

Marco Kremer

 Martin Landajo

Tomas Lavanni

Juan Manuel Leguizamon,

Nicolas Leiva

Tomas Lezana

Pablo Matera

Julian Montoya

Ramiro Moyano

Matias Orlando

Javier Ortega Desio

Guido Petti

Nicolas Sanchez

Leonardo Senatore

Nahuel Tates Chaparro

Joaquin Tuculet

Juan Pablo Zeiss