2017-18 Women's World Series to finish in Paris

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Australia’s women will finish their 2017-18 world series in Paris, with next season’s dates announced by World Rugby on Tuesday.

Next season’s series will have five legs, one fewer than 2016-17, with the French capital replacing Clermont-Ferrand as the finishing tournament and Las Vegas cut from the calendar.

Dubai, Sydney, Japan’s Kitakyushu and Canada’s Langford will all retain their tournaments, with the Commonwealth Games in April and July’s Rugby Sevens World Cup adding some extra opportunities.

Dubai, Sydney and Paris will all be run concurrently with the men’s tournaments, maintaining the number of joint tournaments from the last series.

The men’s series will wrap up in Paris as well, with their dates announced in May.

World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont said 2018 would be a landmark year for the game.

“With the Commonwealth Games in April and Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco in July, 2018 will be quite a year for the men’s and women’s teams,” he said.

“The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series is growing considerably each year and I predict this one will be no different, with the action coming to a thrilling climax for the 28 teams in Paris in June."


Women’s World Sevens Series

Dubai - November 30 - December 1, 2017

Sydney - January 26-28, 2018

Commonwealth Games, Gold Coast - April 13-15

Kitakyushu - April 21-22, 2018

Langford - May 12-13, 2018

Paris - June 8-10, 2018

Rugby Sevens World Cup, San Francisco - July 20-22