Boks name fresh trio in starting XV

The Rugby Championship
by Sam Phillips

Springboks coach Allister Coetzee has made three changes to the starting XV that was flogged by the All Blacks a fortnight ago.

Local media had forecast sweeping changes but Coetzee has stuck relatively solid with the team beaten 57-0 in Albany, the only other change coming on the bench, where Chiliboy Ralepelle has been named.

Dillyn Leyds gets his first start on the wing in place of the discarded Raymond Rhule, Francois Louw goes straight into openside flanker having only joined the squad a week ago, with Ross Cronje named at halfback after overcoming the illness that kept him out of the loss to NZ.Dillyn Leyds has been rewarded for a huge year with the Stormers. Photo: Getty Images“Francois showed this week that he is in a great condition and he brings a lot of experience to the team,” Coetzee said of Louw's inclusion.

“I believe his strength is playing towards the ball, and he is renowned for making good decisions at the defensive breakdown.

"As a result Jean-Luc moves back to the bench, from where he can make a telling impact."

Coetzee said it was time to give Leyds his chance in the starting XV, with Rhule a relatively known quantity.

“Dillyn has played consistently well in the Currie Cup and deserves a chance," he said.

"Raymond stays part of our plan and will join up with the squad next week in Cape Town again.”

The inclusion of Cronje will provide comfort for Elton Jantjies, as their combination is starting to flourish.

"It is great to resume the continuity between Ross and Elton Jantjies as a halfback combination," Coetzee said.

"All three of our scrumhalves looked sharp during training this week.


Springboks team to face the Wallabies

1.Tendai Mtawarira

2. Malcolm Marx

3. Ruan Dreyer

4. Eben Etzebeth (C)

5. Franco Mostert

6. Siya Kolisi

7. Francois Louw

8. Uzair Cassiem

9. Ross Cronje

10. Elton Jantjies

11. Courtnall Skosan

12. Jan Serfontein

13. Jesse Kriel

14. Dillyn Leyds

15. Andries Coetzee


16. Chiliboy Ralepelle

17. Steven Kitshoff

18. Trevor Nyakane

19. Pieter-Steph du Toit

20. Jean-Luc du Preez

21. Rudy Paige

22. Handré Pollard

23. Damian de Allende

The Wallabies take on the Springboks in Bloemfontein on Sunday morning, kicking off at 1am AEST, broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS.