Cross code stars to feature for Adelaide Uni

Uni 7s
by Jill Scanlon

The University of Adelaide Romas have named code converts Lauren Kildare and Zahn Anthony as their co-captains for the inaugural Aon Uni 7s Series, which begins today.

Kildare, who comes from a touch football background, will join with Anthony, who is an AFL convert, to take charge of the team for the first tournament.

The two were elected by the playing group to lead the program in 2017, which has seen a number of sporting talents combine on field.

Kildare has been impressed by the variety of skills brought into the mix by her teammates.

“The variety of sporting backgrounds has brought skills to our squad which has allowed us to really learn off each other’s assets, which we are hoping will be our point of difference,” she said.

Bringing a wealth of experience to the Romas for their first hit-out will be Aussie Sevens playmaker Evania Pelite.

Emma Tonegato and Ebony Satala are waiting in the wings for their opportunity which should come in Round Two in Sydney, while Mahalia Murphy will also join the squad upon her return from World Cup duties.

Anthony is excited at the prospect of playing alongside these elite Sevens athletes.

“Having the opportunity to test yourself against athletes who have played on the World Series is going to be an extraordinary experience,” she said.

Both captains have recognised the importance of the opportunity presented to them, and are keen to make the most of it.

“We are going to focus on getting the little bits right and then really start to test ourselves as the tournament progresses,” said Kildare.

While Anthony has appreciated the freedom she has been given to train and prepare under this new rugby initiative.

“This program has been like no other, not having to worry about personal finances for participation has allowed me to focus more time and energy on training and preparation,” she said. 


Lucy Northcott

Zahn Anthony

Eva Karpani

Chloe Hourn-Smith

Lauren Kildare

Evania Pelite

Alice Gregory

Clair Alvino

Phoebe Linder Patton

Leah Phillips

Ellie Konopka

Rebekah Jones

Gemma Monaghan


Day 1, Friday, August 25 2017 (AEST)

2pm - University of Adelaide v Griffith University

4pm - University of Adelaide v Macquarie University

6.20pm - University of Adelaide v University of Tasmania

Every tournament, every match, LIVE and exclusive on, Facebook LIVE and @RUGBYcomau Twitter.