Savea sent to bench as Lions stay stable for semi

Super Rugby
by Sam Phillips

The Hurricanes have dropped Julian Savea as they prepare for a blockbuster semi final clash with the Lions in Johannesburg.

The man they call "The Bus" is the victim of a backline reshuffle triggered by Vince Aso's return to the centres.

Aso will start at outside centre, pushing Jordie Barrett back to fullback and Nehe Milner-Skudder to the right wing.Vince Aso is back in the centres for the Canes. Photo: Getty ImagesWes Goosen has been in fantastic form of late and he has been preferred to Savea on the left wing, meaning he will have to come from the bench.

As forecast, Dane Coles will start at hooker.

His first start in more than four months means Ricky Riccitelli shifts to the bench.Lions fans will be hoping they're treated to another thriller on Saturday night. Photo: Getty ImagesThey are two big changes for the Hurricanes but the Lions have no moves to speak of.

Content with a thrilling win against the Sharks, coach Johan Ackermann has named the same 23 to face the Canes.

The Hurricanes take on the Lions in Johannesburg on Saturday night, kicking off at 10:30pm AEST, broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


Lions team to face the Hurricanes

1. Jacques Van Rooyen

2. Malcolm Marx

3. Ruan Dreyer

4. Andries Ferreira

5. Franco Mostert

6. Jaco Kriel (C)

7. Kwagga Smith

8. Ruan Ackermann

9. Ross Cronje

10. Elton Jantjies

11. Courtnall Skosan

12. Harold Vorster

13. Lionel Mapoe

14. Ruan Combrinck

15. Andries Coetzee


16. Armand van der Merwe

17. Corne Fourie

18. Johannes Jonker

19. Lorens Erasmus

20. Cyle Brink

21. Francois de Klerk

22. Rohan Janse van Rensburg

23. Sylvian Mahuza

Hurricanes team to face the Lions

1. Ben May

2. Dane Coles (C)

3. Jeff Toomaga-Allen

4. Mark Abbott

5. Sam Lousi

6. Vaea Fifita

7. Ardie Savea

8. Brad Shields

9. TJ Perenara

10. Beauden Barrett

11. Wes Goosen

12. Ngani Laumape

13. Vince Aso

14. Nehe Milner-Skudder

15. Jordie Barrett


16. Ricky Riccitelli

17. Chris Eves

18. Loni Uhila

19. Reed Prinsep

20. Callum Gibbins

21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi

22. Otere Black

23. Julian Savea