NSW dominates Schoolboys team

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

New South Wales has dominated the Australian Schools sides, despite both the state sides missing out on Saturday's final.

The Australian Schools side was picked after the four-day National Schools Championships this week, which ACT won for the first time since 1988.

ACT has supplied just two players to the national side with hooker Lachlan Lonergan and skipper, halfback, Seamus Smith in the main squad.

Super boot William Goddard, mercurial fullback Brendan Jimenez, Tom Iles and Lachlan Osborne rounded out the ACT contingent that earned further honours, with the trio named in the Barbarians squad.

Brendan Jimenez scored a late double to put ACT back in the game. Photo: RUGBY.com.au/Karen WatsonNSW had 11 players in the national schools side, of a possible 20, with six Queenslanders named in the side.

Carlo Tizzano was the sole West Australian to be picked in the side, rewarded for a standout week in Sydney.

Victoria had two players in the squads, with Alex Saaga and Oliver Barden both included in the Barbarians side.

The Combined States fielded just one player into either side, with flanker Harry Turner and fullback Michael Pavlakis among the unlucky players to miss the cut for the national sides.

Both teams will feature in a September series against New Zealand and Fiji in Sydney.


Australian Schools

Bo  Abra (NSW I) - St Stanislaus College

Angus Bell (NSW II) - Newington College

Darcy Breen  (NSW I) - The Scots College

Lachlan Connors (QLD II) - St Patrick's College

Ben Donaldson  (NSW I) - Waverley College

Nick Frost (NSW I) - Knox Grammar School

Albert Hopoate (NSW I) - St Augustine's College

Trevor Hosea  (QLD I) - Brisbane Boys College

Ciaran Loh (NSW I) - The King's School

Noah Lolesio  (QLD I) - The Southport School

Lachlan Lonergan (ACT) - Trinity Christian College

Luca Moretti (NSW I) - Waverley College

Jordan Petaia (QLD I) - Brisbane State High School

Charlie Rorke (NSW I) - St Ignatius College, Riverview

Seamus Smith (ACT) - Marist College

Carlo Tizzano (WA) - Trinity College

Josh Vuta (QLD II) - Somerset College

Harry Wilson (QLD I) - St Josephs College Gregory Terrace

Thomas Woodcock (NSW I) -  Knox Grammar School

Finn Wright (NSW II) - Waverley College

Australian Schools Barbarians

Moses Alo-Emile (QLD I) - Brisbane State High School

Oliver Barden (VIC) - Brighton Grammar School

Marco Bell (NSW II) - Waverley College

Max Douglas (NSW I) - St Augustine's College

Max Dowd (QLD I) - The Southport School

Apenisa Driti (NSW I) - Griffith High School

William Goddard (ACT) - St Edmund's College

Kohan Herbert (QLD II) - Downlands College

Phoenix Hunt (QLD I) - St Joseph's College Nudgee

Tom Iles (ACT) - Marist College

Brendan Jimieez (ACT) - St Edmund's College

Tom Kibble (QLD I) - Brisbane Boys College

William Lloyd (NSW I) - Barker College

Brody MacAskill (WA) - Aranmore Catholic College

Cullen Ngamanu (QLD I) - Brisbane Boys College

Lachlan Osborne (ACT) - Canberra Grammar School

Campbell Parata (QLD I) - The Southport School

Alex Sa'aga (VIC) - Melbourne Grammar School

Egan Siggs (QLD I) - The Southport School

Jack Winchester (Combined States) - Bishop Druitt College

Tom Yassmin (NSW II) - The Scot's College