Sevens captains in Wallaroos June squad

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Sevens co-captains Sharni Williams and Shannon Parry will make their returns to XVs rugby next month.

After switching from XVs to Sevens, the pair will return to the Wallaroos program ahead of the Women's World Cup in August, hoping to make an appearance in the June series against Canada, England and New Zealand.

The pair will be joined by 10 debutants in the New Zealand series, with seven of last year's debutants returning to the lineup for the tournament.

Parry, who was on the Gold Coast as a commentator for the women's nationals, said the squad signalled some generational change. 

We've got a great squad here, we've got some of our next generation coming through, but we've got seven girls returning from last year's tour to New Zealand," she said.

"We've got some older girls, some more experienced girls there, so there's a good mix of youth and that generational change with the experienced heads as well."

Coach Paul Verrell said this squad had been in the making since that challenging trans-Tasman trip in 2016.

“We have been monitoring players in training and in matches since we returned from New Zealand last year, and the players named in this squad is a testament to their hard work and performances over the last twelve months," he said. 

“It has been very encouraging to see the next generation coming through. They have really lifted their work rate both on and off the field, which has led to their selection in this squad.

"Combined with the experience of Shannon Parry, Sharni Williams, Ash Hewson, Cheyenne Campbell and Rebecca Clough, we feel we have a very strong squad for this tour.

“We’ll continue the hard work for our three tough Test matches this June, as we continue to build depth for our Women’s Rugby World Cup campaign.”


Wallaroos squad for the series against New Zealand, Canada and England

Cheyenne Campbell, Queensland, hooker, 9 Tests

Liz Patu, Queensland, hooker/prop, 9 Tests 

Violeta Tupuola*, ACT, prop

Evelyn Horomia*, Sydney, prop

Caroline Fairs (nee Vakalahi), ADF, prop, 8 Tests

Hilisha Samoa*, Queensland, prop

Hana Ngaha, Queensland, prop, 2 Tests

Rebecca Clough, Western Australia, lock, 11 Tests

Alisha Hewett, ADF, lock, 9 Tests

Millie Boyle*, ACT, lock

Alexandra Sulusi, Sydney, lock, 2 Tests

Shannon Parry, Australia Sevens, backrow, 10 Tests 

Chloe Butler, South Australia Barbarians, backrow, 6 Tests

Grace Hamilton, Sydney, backrow, 2 Tests

Vesinia Schaaf -Taufa, Western Australia, backrow, 2 Tests

Victoria Latu*, Sydney, backrow

Natasha Haines, Western Australia, backrow/centre, 7 Tests

Cobie-Jane Morgan, Sydney, scrumhalf, 13 Tests

Katrina Barker, NSW Country, scrumhalf, 2 Tests

Samantha Treherne*, Queensland, flyhalf/fullback

Fenella Hake*, Queensland, flyhalf/scrumhalf

Sarah Riordan, ADF, flyhalf/centre, 2 Tests

Sharni Williams, Australian Sevens, centre, 13 Tests

Kayla Sauvao*, Sydney, centre/wing

Nareta Marsters, Queensland, centre/wing, 2 Tests

Huia Swanell*, Western Australia, centre/wing

Ashleigh Timoko*, Western Australia, centre/wing

Ashleigh Hewson, Sydney, fullback, 12 Tests



Friday June 9 - Australia vs England, Porirua Park, Wellington

Tuesday June 13 – Australia vs New Zealand, Rugby Park, Christchurch

Saturday June 17 - Australia vs Canada, Smallbone Park, Rotorua