Inman in for Highlanders clash

Super Rugby
by Sam Phillips

The Rebels have named a familiar starting XV to take on the Highlanders, with Mitch Inman the only change in Tony McGahan's team.

Inman comes in at outside centre, with Tom English shifting to the wing to cover for the injured Sefa Naivalu (shoulder).

Melbourne have named the same starting forward pack for the third consecutive week, while there is one potential debutant on the bench in Rebels U20s captain Esei Haangana.

"I've been pleased with the progress we have made over the last two weeks however our contribution at the backend of these games has resulted in losses," McGahan said.

"So we need to make sure that we apply those lessons and play out the full 80 minutes – starting this weekend."


IN: Siliva Siliva, Mick Snowden, Lopeti Timani, Sione Tuipulotu, Esei Haangana

OUT: Pat Leafa, Ben Meehan, Sefa Naivalu

Rebels team to take on the Highlanders

1. Fereti Sa’aga

2. James Hanson

3. Laurie Weeks

4. Culum Retallick

5. Steve Cummins

6. Jordy Reid

7. Colby Fainga’a

8. Amanaki Mafi

9. Nic Stirzaker (C)

10. Jackson Garden-Bachop

11. Marika Koroibete

12. Reece Hodge

13. Mitch Inman

14. Tom English

15. Jack Debreczeni

Extended Reserves (two to be omitted)

16. Siliva Siliva

17. Tom Moloney

18. Tyrel Lomax

19. Dominic Day

20. Lopeti Timani

21. Jake Schatz

22. Esei Haangana

23. Mick Snowden

24. Sione Tuipulotu

25. Ben Volavola

Highlanders team to face Rebels

1. Aki Seiuli

2. Liam Coltman

3. Siate Tokolahi

4. Joe Wheeler

5. Tom Franklin

6. Gareth Evans

7. Dillon Hunt

8. Luke Whitelock

9. Aaron Smith

10. Marty Banks

11. Patrick Osborne

12. Richard Buckman

13. Malakai Fekitoa

14. Tevita Li

15. Ben Smith (c)


16. Greg Pleasants-Tate

17. Daniel Lienert-Brown

18. Siosuia Halanukonuka

19. Elliot Dixon

20. Tupou Sopoaga

21. Kayne Hammington

22. Fletcher Smith

23. Matt Faddes

The Rebels take on the Highlanders in Dunedin on Friday night, kicking off at 5:35pm AEDT, broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS.