Brisbane to host Bledisloe in 2017

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Brisbane will host the third Bledisloe Cup match next year, with the ARU announcing its 2017 Rugby Championship schedule on Wednesday.

The Wallabies will host New Zealand in Sydney to open the tournament on August 19, with Perth also confirmed to host the Australia vs South Africa fixture.

Brisbane last hosted a Bledisloe was in 2014, with the Wallabies going down by one point in Ewen McKenzie’s final game in charge of the national side and Adam Ashley-Cooper's 100th cap.

Adam Ashley-Cooper won his100th Test cap that night. Photo: Getty ImagesThe announcement comes after the confirmation of the June Tests against Scotland, Italy and Fiji, to be held in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne.

The venue for the Wallabies’ clash with Argentina is yet to be confrimed, with that decision likely to be made in the new year.

ARU CEO Bill Pulver said it was exciting for fans to be able to see the Wallabies on their home deck for an extra Test

“Fans can expect some incredible Rugby from this 2017 Rugby Championship schedule, featuring two Bledisloe Cup matches on home soil, the Springboks in Perth where they always attract a strong following, and a soon-to-be-confirmed clash with Argentina," he said.

“This competition sets the standard in international rugby for the rivalry, skill and flair it showcases. To have the best teams on the planet playing in our backyard is a wonderful opportunity for sports lovers – young and old – to see some of the world’s best rugby first-hand.”

Tickets for the 2017 Rugby Championship will go on sale in May 2017. Click here for pre-sale information. 

2017 Domestic Test schedule

June Series

June 10 - Wallabies vs Fiji, AAMI Park

June 17 - Wallabies vs Scotland, Allianz Stadium

June 24 - Wallabies vs Italy, Suncorp Stadium

Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup

August 19 - Wallabies vs New Zealand, ANZ Stadium, Sydney, 8pm AEST

September 9 - Wallabies vs South Africa, nib Stadium, Perth, 6pm AWST

September 16 - Wallabies vs Argentina, TBC, 8pm kick off

October 21 - Wallabies vs New Zealand, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 7pm AEST