Folau voted Australia's best centre

Super Rugby
Matt Lewis Profile
by Matt Lewis

Israel Folau is Australia's best 13, according to the Rugby Union Players’ Association People's Choice Team of the Year.

Folau has been picked in the outside centre spot ahead of his Brumbies counterpart, in the fan-voted team.

Melbourne Rebels flyer Sefania Naivalu and Waratahs backrower Jed Holloway have been voted in the team after breakout seasons with their respective clubs.

Brumbies openside David Pocock has vested Waratahs Michael Hooper as well, in the eclectic team.

12 of the 15 players selected feature in Michael Cheika’s current Rugby Championship Wallabies squad, while Rory Arnold would be in Test contention if not for an elbow injury.

 All five Super Rugby clubs have a presence in the side with the Brumbies and Waratahs boasting five players.

 RUPA CEO Ross Xenos congratulated all players on their selection.

 “Congratulations to all players who’ve been selected in the first ever Volvo People’s Choice Team of the Year,” Xenos said.

“This team is voted on exclusively by the fans, whose contribution to their team and the game, be it in the stands, in front of their televisions, or from anywhere in the world, makes it possible for our members to play rugby professionally.

“To be selected in this team is a wonderful recognition for players, particularly some of the names that we are less familiar with around the national team.

"All fifteen players richly deserve their selection although there are plenty of others who have only very narrowly missed out.”

2016 Volvo People’s Choice Team of the Year:

1. James Slipper (Queensland Reds)

2. Stephen Moore (Brumbies)

3. Greg Holmes (Queensland Reds)

4. Rory Arnold (Brumbies)

5. Adam Coleman (Western Force)

6. Scott Fardy (Brumbies)

7. David Pocock (Brumbies)

8. Jed Holloway (NSW Waratahs)

9. Nick Phipps (NSW Waratahs)

10. Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs)

11. Rob Horne (NSW Waratahs)

12. Matt Toomua (Brumbies)

13. Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs)

14. Sefanaia Naivalu (Melbourne Rebels)

15. Dane Haylett-Petty (Western Force)