NRC: Frisby to prove himself in NRC

by Montanna Clare

Fresh from the disappointment of being squeezed out of the Wallabies Rugby Championship squad, Nick Frisby is keen to impress in the Buildcorp NRC.

He was one of 18 returning players announced in Brisbane City's 34-man squad, which will be coached by Rod Seib after Nick Stiles took the top job at the Reds. 

The halfback played an instrumental part in the side's back-to-back championships, Seib confident they have what it takes to achieve success again in 2016. 

“We’re fortunate that the nucleus of the squad is from the previous two years, so we won’t be starting from scratch," he said.

Brisbane City are the only team to have ever lifted the Buildcorp NRC trophy. Photo: Getty Images

Also looking to prove their positions on the field are Queensland Reds players Leroy Houston and Jake McIntyre.

Returning from three seasons in the English Aviva Premiership for Bath and also narrowly missing out on a Wallabies start, Houston will need to showcase his talent to prove his worth for the Reds 2017 side.

Meanwhile, 22-year-old McIntyre returns to Brisbane City for a third season with the team has the NRC pathway to thank for his Reds debut in 2015.

The side will be skippered by prop Sam Talakai who also thinks the side is capable of continuing their dominance in the competition.

“What we built in the first two years was pretty special," he said.

"We’ve got a good core of players from those years and we want to keep building on that success."

Sam Talakai will captain Brisbane City in 2016. Photo: Reds Media.

Brisbane City will start their 2016 campaign for a third consecutive title against the NSW Country Eagles at Sydney University on the 27th of August.


Full Squad:

Levi Aumua, Luke Beauchamp, Jake DeGuingand, Kane Douglas, David Findlay-Henaway, Feao Fotaika, Nick Frisby, Alex Gibbon, Michael Gunn, Leroy Houston, Karmichael Hunt, Patrick James, Samu Kerevi, Chris Kuridrani, Brad Lacey, Junior Laloifi, Jeremiah Lynch, Tonga Ma’afu, Matt Mafi, Jake McIntyre, Brendan Mitchell, Isi Naisarani, Harry Nucitora, Pettowa Paraka, Andrew Ready, Nathan Russell, Moses Sorovi, Jake Strachan, Sam Talakai, Tuaina Tualima, Lukhan Tui, Criff Tupou, Markus Vanzati and Toby White.


Wallabies Marquee Players: Nick Frisby, Leroy Houston and Samu Kerevi.