Rio Olympics: Australian Sevens teams announced

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Two unlikely Sevens comebacks have been made official this morning, with the announcement of the Sevens teams for the Olympics.

Gemma Etheridge and Nick Malouf both appeared to have season-ending setbacks earlier this year, rupturing their ACLs, but have made it back to Olympic inclusion.

Etheridge, a veteran of the women's program who relocated for the program, underwent LARS surgery to accelerate her recovery and make it back in time for Rio.

Malouf, who was one of the stars of the 2014-15 World Series, has been monitored closely throughout his return after it was discovered he hadn't completely ruptured his ligament.

Nick Malouf is on the comeback trail. Photo: Getty ImagesThe medical staff were cautious with Malouf's comeback but the forward has ticked all the boxes, making a full playing return against Japan this week.

There are few surprises among the teams selected for Rio, with no XVs players making the cut in the men's team, with Nick Cummins and Henry Speight both running out of time in injury recovery.

Women's coach Tim Walsh has opted for much the same team as that which took out the recent World Series title, Australia's first in either men's or women's, as they prepare for a gold medal tilt.

John Porch is the main bolter in the men's team, included after a stunning debut season that began in the Wellington tournament in February.

Porch has added some critical speed to the Sevens side since joining and was recently been signed to a two-year deal.

The women's Sevens competition begins on August 7, Australian time, with the men's kicking off three days later.

Australia's women play their first Olympic match on August 7. Photo: ARU Media/Stu Walmlsey

 Women's Sevens team for the Olympics

1 Shannon Parry

2 Sharni Williams

3 Nicole Beck

4 Gemma Etheridge

5 Emma Tonegato

6 Evania Pelite

7 Charlotte Caslick

8 Chloe Dalton

9 Amy Turner

10 Alicia Quirk

11 Emilee Cherry

12 Ellia Green

Men's Sevens Olympic team

1 Nick Malouf

2 Jesse Parahi

3 Henry Hutchison

4 Lewis Holland

5 James Stannard

6 Con Foley

7 Cameron Clark

8 Pat McCutcheon

9 Ed Jenkins

10 Allan Fa’alava’au

11 John Porch

12 Tom Cusack