Wallaroos squad announced ahead of New Zealand tour

Matt Lewis Profile
by Matt Lewis

The Buildcorp Wallaroos extended squad has been announced for August’s training camp in preparation for their tour of New Zealand.

Head coach Paul Verrell has named 14 players who took part in the 2014 Rugby World Cup, but has been amazed by some of the new young guns coming through.

“I think ACT came up with a couple of young girls,” Verrell said.

“Millie Boyle who has only played a handful of games but showed enough at the Nationals for us to bring her into camp and see how far she goes this year."

Millie Boyle (left) impressed at the Buildcorp National Championships. Photo: ARU Media/Stu Walmsley

The current squad of 35 players will train on the Gold Coast for a week in August before Verrell trims the squad for their tour of New Zealand.

“We've taken 35 into this camp at Bond and we've still got to cut that to 26 for the tour to NZ,” Verrell said.

“I think now they realise it's pretty competitive to get on that plane to go to New Zealand, and I think looking forward to future plans for the World Cup in 2017.

“I’m expecting the level of intensity at the camp to be intense with the stakes so high. This is a huge year for Women’s XVs Rugby – we have an important tour to New Zealand coming up in a matter of months as well as the Women’s Rugby World Cup on the horizon.”

The camp kicks off from Wednesday 24 August until Sunday 28 August.

Wallaroos schedule (2016-17):

24-28 August 2016: Training camp, Bond University Gold Coast

18 October 2016: Trial Match - Auckland v Buildcorp Wallaroos XV, Eden Park

22 October 2016: 1st Test - New Zealand v Buildcorp Wallaroos, Eden Park

26 October 2015: 2nd Test - New Zealand v Buildcorp Wallaroos, Eden Park

August 2017: Women’s Rugby World Cup, Ireland


Alexandra Bannon, Prop, Queensland

Millie Boyle, Lock, ACT

Louise Burrows, Hooker, ACT 

Chloe Butler, Lock, Sydney

Emily Chancellor, Lock, Sydney

Rebecca Clough, Lock, Western Australia

Mollie Gray, Lock/backrow, ADRFU

Alisha Hewett, Lock, ADRFU

Ivy Kaleta, Hooker, Queensland

Ariana Kaiwai, Flanker, Sydney

Victoria Latu, Number eight, Sydney

Penelope Leiataua, Frontrow, Sydney

Hana Ngaha, Prop, Queensland

Georgia O’Neill, Backrow, ACT

Alana Patison, Frontrow, NSW Country 

Liz Patu, Frontrow/Backrow, Queensland

Emily Robinson, Prop, Sydney

Brooke Saunders, Lock, ADFRU

Oneata Schawalger, Prop, Victoria

Kirby Sefo, Lock/backrow, Queensland

Alexandra Sulusi, Lock, Sydney

Venisia Taufa, Backrow, Western Australia

Violeta Tupuola, Prop, ACT


Katrina Barker, Scrumhalf/centre, Sydney

Iliseva Batibasaga, Sydney, Scrumhalf 

Cheyenne Campbell, Queensland, Flyhalf/centre

Kasey Dragisic, Wing/fullback, ACT

Ash Hewson, Flyhalf, Sydney

Chloe Leaupepe, Flyhalf/centre, Sydney

Nareta Marsters, Wing, Queensland 

Cobie-Jane Morgan, Wing, Sydney

Madeline Putz, Fullback/wing/centre, Western Australia

Sarah Riordan, Flyhalf/centre, NSW Country 

Hanna Sio, Centre, Sydney

Shontelle Stowers, Wing, Sydney