Australia U20s on the hunt for Scottish redemption

Matt Lewis Profile
by Matt Lewis

Australia U20s back Campbell Magnay will have the chance for redemption, returning to the side from suspension, to face Scotland.

Magnay was red-carded in the team’s opening 15-10 loss to the Scots, after two yellow cards, and was ruled out of their final two pool matches because of that.

In the forwards Faalelei Sione earns his first start for the U20s at this tournament when he starts at prop, with Izack Rodda returning to the starting XV alongside backrower Rob Leota.

Australian Sevens star Simon Kennewell has been pushed to the bench, while Liam Jurd has kept Magnay out of his usual centre position, with the latter starting on the wing.

Having missed out on the semi-finals, Australia will be battling it out to decide their seeding for next year’s tournament, with a win putting them through to a fifth-place playoff against the winner of Wales and New Zealand’s playoff.

Australia lost their opening World Rugby U20s match to Scoland, 10-15. Photo: Getty Images

Head coach Adrian Thompson has opted for size in his forward back as his side looks to redeem themselves against Scotland.

“We’ve had to make a number of changes this week but we’ve added some size to the line-up,” he said.

“Faalelei (Sione) hasn’t played yet at the tournament, but he has trained hard and is happy to have his opportunity this weekend.

“Rob (Leota) is also has a brilliant chance to impress with his first start and he’ll add some physicality to our starting pack.

“Having Magnay back will also add some experience and fire-power to the backline, and he is keen to deliver for his team after sitting out the last two games.”

Harrison Chapman and Ed Craig, both products of the NSW Gen Blue U20s team have joined the Australian squad as injury replacements.

The Australia U20s vs Scotland U20s clash kicks off at 4.45am AEST Tuesday morning at AJ Bell Stadium in Salford with the match to be streamed LIVE on 


1. Faalelei Sione

2. Jordan Uelese

3. Tyrel Lomax

4. Lukhan Tui

5. Izack Rodda

6. Rob Leota

7. Liam Wright

8. Maclean Jones

9. James Tuttle (C)

10. Mack Mason

11. Liam McNamara

12. Sione Tuipulotu

13. Liam Jurd

14. Campbell Magnay

15. Jack Maddocks


16. Ed Craig

17. Richie Asiata

18. Shambackler Vui

19. Harry Hockings

20. Angus Scott-Young

21. Harry Nucifora

22. Jordan Jackson-Hope

23. Simon Kennewell