Godwin starts as Force make four changes

Thu, 05/05/2016, 06:25 am
Matt Lewis
by Matt Lewis
Kyle Godwin will start his first match since round one. Photo: Getty Images
Kyle Godwin will start his first match since round one. Photo: Getty Images

Kyle Godwin makes his long awaited return to the Western Force starting team to face the Sunwolves in Tokyo on Saturday.

Godwin injured his knee in round one, coming off the bench the past three weeks but is back to full fitness to take on the Sunwolves.

Michael Foley has made three other changes to the starting XV with Guy Millar replacing Tetera Faulkner, Ross Haylett-Petty joins Adam Coleman at lock while Brynard Stander will start at blindside flanker ahead of Angus Cottrell.

Usual scrumhalf Ian Prior will remain at 10 with Peter Grant returning from an eye injury off the bench.

The Force will be just the second Australian team to play the Sunwolves, after the Rebels beat the Japanese side in Tokyo earlier this year, and Foley is looking forward to the opportunity.

“Obviously there’s always disappointment after a loss, but the team is more motivated than ever to respond this weekend,” he said.

“There's a sense of excitement about the chance to play in Tokyo and we feel we have an opportunity to pick up some wins towards the back end of the season if we attack each game for the 80 minutes without fear.”

The Force play the Sunwolves at 3:15pm AEST Saturday, LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


1. Francois Van Wyk

2. Harry Scoble

3 . Guy Millar

4. Ross Haylett-Petty

5. Adam Coleman

6. Byrnard Stander

7. Matt Hodgson ©

8. Ben McCalman

9. Alby Mathewson

10. Ian Prior

11. Luke Morahan

12. Kyle Godwin

13. Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea

14. Marcel Brache

15. Dane Haylett – Petty


16. Anaru Rangi

17. Chris Heiberg

18. Tetera Faulkner

19. Sitiveni (Stevie) Mafi

20. Angus Cottrell

21. Ryan Louwrens

22. Peter Grant

23. Semisi Masirewa

Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.