Stars looking to shine in Brisbane

by staff

It’s Semi-Finals week and the top performers for 2015 have been confirmed, with Brisbane City minor premiers, Canberra Vikings a close second, a little daylight, then Melbourne Rising and Sydney Stars at third and fourth place respectively.


This week the Stars tackle the year’s biggest challenge as they take on the minor premiers at Ballymore Oval Saturday 24th October kick-off 7.30pm AEDT.


The last time they met they copped a brutal 58-0 drubbing from City at Leichhardt Oval.


Brisbane City have a load of big names, including Nick Frisby, Scott Higginbotham, Chris Kuridrani and Karmichael Hunt, although last time they met it was winger Junior Laloifi who did the most damage scoring four tries.


Throughout this tournament under head coach Peter Playford the Stars have placed emphasis on the development of the squad, and it’s no small merit that right wing Guy Porter has been rewarded with his second start in two weeks. The 19-year-old setup a superb try last week to get his team into the finals, and looks well suited to the big time of the NRC. Nineteen year old Jordan Tuapou also gets another start at open-side in a show of faith from the coaching staff.


Regardless of the result, the Stars have made massive strides under Peter Playford and assistant coaches Dan Parks, Ben Roberts, Tim Davidson and David Lyons; the development of the younger talent has been a cornerstone of their season and the results have followed.


Their standing on the ladder has improved from last in 2014 to making the semis in 2015, and don’t discount them from going on.


Watch Brisbane City take on the Sydney Stars LIVE on FOX SPORTS 2 from 7.30pm AEDT / 6.30pm AEST on Saturday evening.


Sydney Stars team to play Brisbane City:

1. Jeremy Tilse Sydney Uni

2. Tolu Latu Sydney Uni

3. Kirwan Sanday Easts Brisbane

4. Loma Kaveinga Balmain

5. Rohan O’regan Sydney Uni

6. Jake Wainwright Sydney Uni

7. Jordan Tuapou West Harbour

8. David Hickey (c) Sydney Uni

9. Jake Gordon Sydney Uni

10. Angus Roberts Sydney Uni

11. Harry Jones Warringah

12. Tom Carter Sydney Uni

13. Jim Stewart Sydney Uni

14. Guy Porter Sydney Uni

15. Tom Kingston (vc) Sydney Uni


16. Todd Pearce Eastwood

17. Aldy King Sydney Uni

18. Liam Mcgrath Canberra Vikings

19. Senio Toleafoa Canberra Vikings

20. Ofa Finau Balmain

21. Richard Draper Sydney Uni

22. Jordan Mcgregor Souther Districts

23. Andrew Robinson Canberra Vikings