Two changes for Force to face Chiefs

Super Rugby
by staff

The Western Force have made two changes to their side to face the Chiefs on Saturday. 

Wallaby backrower has been moved to the bench with Angus Cottrell moving to number eight and Brynard Stander being promoted to blindside flanker. 

In the only other change to the starting XV, Heath Tessmann has been given the nod ahead of Nathan Charles at hooker. 

Force coach Michael Foley will be looking for a much improved effort against the Chiefs this weekend. 

“We were disappointed in our performance on Friday night. For the first 60 minutes of the game, we created enough opportunities to take points,” he said. 

“However, at key times we gave possession away and released pressure too easily. A lot of the lead up work in attack was what we’ve been practicing and came on the back of good set piece and defence. 

“Ultimately, we will stay true to the way we want to play and won’t lose sight of what we are trying to achieve, but to take the next step and win those games, will mean being more relentless to finish our work when we have momentum at different times throughout the game.”

The Western Force take on the chiefs at 5:35pm AEDT Saturday LIVE on FOX SPORTS.

1. Pekahou Cowan

2. Heath Tessmann

3. Tetera Faulkner

4. Ross Haylett-Petty

5. Adam Coleman

6. Brynard Stander

7. Matt Hodgson (C) 

8. Angus Cottrell

9. Alby Mathewson

10. Peter Grant

11. Semisi Masirewa

12. Solomoni (Junior Rasolea)

13. Ben Tapuai

14. Marcel Brache

15. Dane Haylett-Petty


16. Chris Heiberg

17. Nathan Charles

18. Jermaine Ainsley

19. Sitiveni (Stevie) Mafi

20. Ben McCalman

21. Ryan Louwrens

22. Ian Prior

23. Albert Nikoro