Wallaroos announce team for final match of Tri-Nations Tournament

by RUGBY.com.au staff

Wallaroos Head Coach Paul Verrell has named senior player Tui Ormsby as captain for Australia’s first ever clash against Canada in Women’s XVs Rugby.

Tui Ormsby has represented Australia at three previous World Cups and could be in line for a fourth if she is named in the Wallaroos 2014 World Cup squad.

ACT local, Michelle Milward and Western Australian Madeline Putz will receive their first ever Test Cap when they make their debut for the Wallaroos.

Coming after a tough loss to New Zealand’s Black Ferns, Head Coach Paul Verrell took a lot of confidence from the side’s first half performance.

“We really had great intent for that first forty minutes against the Black Ferns.”

“We pushed them off the ball and they were clearly taken aback by the way we intended to play the game.

“We’ve looked at what we need to improve on and I am really excited about implementing those changes against Canada.”

The match against Canada is the last chance players have to prove their credentials for selection in the Australian World Cup Squad.

In August this year, the Wallaroos will travel to Paris for the IRB Women’s Rugby World Cup.

The Wallaroos will play Canada at 12.30 AEST in Tarunga New Zealand on Friday 6 June.


1. Oneata Schwalger

2. Louise Burrows

3. Caroline Vakalahi

4. Brooke Saunders

5. Michelle Milward

6. Chloe Butler

7. Rebecca Smyth (vc)

8. Alisha Hewett

9. Nita Maynard

10. Tui Ormsby (c)

11. Natasha Haines

12. Hanna Sio

13. Kenina Terita

14. Madeline Putz

15. Ashleigh Hewson

16. Margaret Watson

17. Liz Patu

18. Danielle Meskell

19. Mollie Gray

20. Ashleigh Hewson

21. Cheyenne Campbell

22. Hayley Barclay

23. Alexandra Sulusi